All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I made this on the advice of a very good cook and I'm so glad I did! What a fantastic, easy method. I had 4 apples (1 3/4 lb.) so I scaled the recipe down to 20 servings. I started this in my crock pot at 12:30 one day and 10 hours later it didn't look cooked down enough so I just let it go overnight. In the morning it was beautifully cooked down and nicely browned. Although the apples were very soft they still retained their shape so I used my hand mixer to get them to a nice spreading consistency. My youngest son woke up and told me our house smelled like Christmas :) The kids are loving this on toasted bread but I plan to use it in the many recipes available on this site that include apple butter as an ingredient. Thanks so much for this submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This is the same recipe that is highly rated and listed elsewhere on the allrecipes site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I made this last year and gave it as Christmas gifts. I had so many compliments and requests for more. I did add extra spices - i like my apple butter spicier. I also made it with 2 cups brown sugar and 2 cups white sugar. After cooking I put it in a blender to make it smoother before canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarajo614

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is a good recipe. I add more spices as I like mine a bit spicier. I use this recipe every year in the fall. It gives the house a wonderful smell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Mmmmmmm yummy! I had just gone apple-picking and had tons of apples to use up; this recipe was a great way to do that! Just set it in the Crockpot before going to bed and finished it in the morning - so easy! Cooked down nicely, although mine needed an extra hour or 2 in the cooker to get rid of some excess liquid in the mixture. Took a whisk to it when it was all done because some of the apples looked a little chunky and it came out wonderfully! Planning to use these for stocking stuffers at Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Yummy! I made this yesterday and just had some on toast this morning. It was really easy to make...I didn't even really measure the ingredients out. I just filled my crockpot full of apple slices, eyeballed the cinnamon and cloves, and only put in about 1.5 cups of sugar since I was using golden delicious apples, which are really sweet to begin with. This is going to be a fall tradition in my family! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
The texture was really nice after simmering it for an additional two hours (I like my apple butter really thick) but I just couldn't bring myself to taste the batch I made. To me, it just smelled burnt. I think it was from the cloves of which I am not a very big fan of to begin with. I will be trying this recipe again however, this time without the cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L. J. Gilmour
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Very easy recipe. Only gave 4 stars because it should specify which types of apples are best to use... My husband brought home Red Delicious because those come conveniently in the 3# bags, and I used them. However, I'm sure this would have tasted better with an apple variety more suitable for cooking like Gala or Honeycrisp. My butter came out quite brown, and tasted fine on a bagel, but I would not can it to give to friends. It did blend nicely for use in the "Apple Butter Pumpkin Pie" from this site and an apple butter rugelach cookie from a magazine. I plan on using the rest in an "Apple Butter Pork Loin" in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Easy and tasty. My husband is very picky about his apple butter and this was a hit. Warning: I made it according to the recipe and it was TOO sweet so I doubled the apples and it was perfect. Either double your apples or 1/2 the sugar called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brevard, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
As other suggested I used ha;f tart and half sweet apples and cut the sugar in half. Perfect! Also added a little vanilla just because. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States