All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Do NOT change a thing to this recipe. Please note that 3.5 cups of sliced apples equals a pound. So you need a LOT more apples than you realize!! I do add nutmeg and a little ginger. But definitely do not change the amount of apples or sugar. I have used this recipe since it was published in Taste of Home Oct/Nov 1996. Tried and true!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I love this recipe. This is the 2nd year I have made it. It is so easy, and since I ran out of sugar I used brown sugar instead. You cant pass this one up, make it today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Fantastic way to use up the apples this fall. I love this recipe as it is so easy and you can walk away from it and enjoy your day. I do not like cloves so I left that out and substituted a pinch of nutmeg and a half tablespoon of Molassas....DELICIOUS! I can't wait to do this with pears from our tree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is awesome! I made 24 servings with 2 lbs of Granny smith apples. I cut the sugar back to 1 C instead of 1 1/2 like it called for after reading some other reviews. It turned out so good! Brings me back to my childhood eating apple butter on toast the day after the country fair. :) And it's very easy to make. I will be making this recipe regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Can you can this butter or does it have to be frozen. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tomaters

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I love this recipe! I made it with local Macintosh apples from a farm down the road. I love the simplicity of the recipe. The hardest part was peeling and cutting the apples. I will never buy apple butter again! The beautiful vibrancy of the apples really shined through and the spices/sugar just complemented it perfectly! I ended up canning it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly_Gurly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I like a lot more spice in my apple butter so I kept adding cinnamon and cloves. I also added a little allspice and nutmeg. I found this took about 17 hours to reduce and I had to leave the lid of to have the butter reduce. Maybe my apples were more juicy. I canned this and only got 2 1/5 pts after all this time. It was still easier than on top of the stove. You are always stirring on the stove
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Woodall
Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I can't stop making this!! It is so easy especially when you use the slow cooker liners! Yum, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was super easy and tasted just like the apple butter that it took my grandmother forever to make. The only change we made was that we felt it was too sweet so we added 1/3 cup of apple cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I had never had apple butter before I made this, but I had a ton of apple to use up so I tried this. I thought it wasnt very good, but, my boyfriend liked it. So I guess I just dont like apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States