All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was very delicious. I only gave four stars because I scaled back on the sugar and only used half the amount in the recipe. I think any more sugar and it would have been too sweet for my family's taste. I used Gala apples because that is what was on sale at the local market. I also scaled back the servings to 22 so I could use an even amount of apples and only 2/3 cup sugar. I was unsure how to use apple butter so I made crepes and sprinkled the crepes with cinnamon and sugar then added a bit of apple butter to the center then returned the crepes to the pan just to caramelize the sugar and topped them off with a bit of fresh whipped cream, yummy. Though I think just eating this with a spoon right out of the bowl would have been good too. I have plenty of left overs so I can experiment with different uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is a very sweet apple butter but my family and friends all love it. I tried making it a second time with half the sugar and though its still great, I felt like the first one came out better. I did add extra spices to the second batch and canned it to give to friends for christmas. My only issue with this is that it takes almost twice the time in the crock pot as the original recipe says, but if you know that ahead of time and plan for it it's ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Very easy! Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Can't wait to try this recipe (sounds delicious!!), but have a ?. How long does homemade apple butter keep in the refrigerator/ freezer? I'd love to make this as Christmas gifts but don't want it to spoil if I make it too early :) Thanks Y'all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
First, let me say that 6 people thought the taste was awesome, but I did cut the sugar in half because of other reviews. I've never tasted apple butter before so there was no long-lost family recipe I was trying to duplicate. Some people had apple butter before and claimed this was much better. I totally destroyed it, but it was totally my fault. Here are my mistakes. I only used 2 1/4 lbs of apples. It looks like more than enough when it first goes in the slow-cooker, but no. I took a nap and even on low, I burned it beyond redemption. There was enough left in the center taste-test after only 5 hours. So next time, I'll use the full amount of apples if using the slow cooker. And there will be a next time. Judging by the comments of others who tasted, I think the cloves might add the extra something special in this recipe. Only 4 stars because of personal preference for less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I HAVE BEEN MAKING A VERY SIMILAIR RECIPE FOR APPLE BUTTER FOR THE LASST 20 YEARS. IT IS A WONDERFUL, FRESH-TASTING APPLE BUTTER. I COOK MINE ABOUT 18 HOURS FROM START TO FINISH. I ALSO PUREE MINE WITH THE IMMERSION BLENDER. IT TURNS OUT VELVETY SMOOTH & IS WONDERFUL TO USE IN A SPICE CAKE. I USE ANY KIND OF APPLES THAT ARE ON SALE AT THE TIME. ALWAYS TURNS OUT GREAT! I FREEZE MY JAM & IT THAWS & SPREADS BEAUTIFULLY. CAN'T GO WRONG WITH THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
can this be made with splenda instead of sugar???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I love this recipe! I have made a few changes to it, though. First, I peel and then cut the apples using a simple apple slicer. I cut the apples into large chunks and place in my crock pot. In the morning, I open the pot and just use a potato masher to remove any large chunks that are left. If you like your apple butter super smooth, just use an immersion blender. This recipe is super sweet. I do not use white sugar, but I use 1 cup of honey. This adds to the beautiful, dark color of the apple butter. I also add 2 tablespoons of lemon juice to the recipe because I like to can the apple butter in pint size mason jars. (Leave 1/4 inch head space and process for 10 minutes) I personally like a bit more cinnamon and less cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Loved this recipe. Just what I was looking for - easy way to use up cooking apples. I did vary the sugar a bit for personal taste or the tartness of your apples. That seems like a no-thinker to me, as well as your spice preferences. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammaBeni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tekoa, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Used half the sugar (and changed it to brown sugar), and nutmeg instead of cloves... super yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie Aase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States