All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I used this recipe in conjunction with a ham glaze recipe I found on this website made with All-Day Apple Butter, OJ, Worcestershire sauce, and onion flakes. 1st of all, this is the best thing in the whole world to have cooking in your house around Christmas. It just make my house feel (and smell) that much cozier! I did use my hand-mixer to get more of that "apple butter texture" in the end. The ham glaze I prepared only called for some of the apple butter so I put the rest into nicely decorated jars and gave them to my mother-in-law and grandmother-in-law as Christmas presents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Pickle Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Made exactly how the recipe was laid out. I love the way that it made my house smell. Canned and gave away as gifts. I love the tart of the Granny Smith Apples with the sweet. Agree with others, that the recipe is followed to the letter that it's more than a little sweet. I might cut back the sugar by a cup, and consider making it with Splenda the next go around for those of my family and friends prefer this as "sugar free."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was so easy once I got past the peeling, coring and dicing 5 lbs of apples. I used my hand held blender after about 9 hrs and it turned out a smooth apple butter. I didn't have cloves so I omittted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was a 1st time recipe for me so I had no clue what to expect. I did not stray from the recipe for that reason. Okay, so I did sneak in a little more cinnamon throughout the day. This was an easy no fuss recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simplicity
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Great recipe, I only gave 4 stars because of it's sweetness. Just a tad too sweet. ( I used 3 cups of sugar with gala apples). I'll try again, but with less sugar or a more tart apple. Made the house smell beautifully! (I put up in the crockpot at 8:30PM and turned to warm at 5:30 AM, turned off at 7:30AM).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda McAnulty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
My first attempt with this recipe was a disaster, I used Granny Smith apples, Not right for this recipe. My second attempt was delicious made with Gala apples. I canned 6 sm. jars for later and to share with friends. On cinnamon swirl bread it is the best!! I used a little less sugar.. Just wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This apple butter is amazing!! House smells great while cooking and tastes great when done. You will need A LOT of apples though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Kusman
Home Town: Oakridge, Oregon, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I cut the sugar in half and it was perfect for me and my family. Super easy recipe. Great on plain toast, PB toast, on ice cream, bagels, and much more! 4 out of 5 for the original recipe. 5 out of 5 for my modified version ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crookston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Very good. Used it to make a glaze for a ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimsontide2186

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sheffield, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Very good apple butter! Everyone in my family loved it and thought it tasted better than store-bought stuff. I added a little bit of ginger to it (following what someone else suggested) and it was fantastic :) I cut the recipe in half and was sad that I made such a small batch :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States