All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I have been making this every fall for the past 3 years to give away as Christmas gifts and it's always a huge hit. No matter what kind of apples I use, I always use half the amount of sugar. This year I used one cup of white sugar and one cup of brown sugar for 10lbs MacIntosh apples (keeping the other amounts of ingredients the same, but using 2 heaping tsp of cinnamon) and it was even better than last year! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was a great / easy recipe. i used xylitol & stevia instead of sugar without telling anyone. Everyone loved it PLUS they thought I had done so much work to make it. Even used my Ninja blender to chop the apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is incredible. I cut the sugar in half and added a little more cinnamon and cloves than the recipe called for. To make it extra smooth I ran it through the blender. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AECM
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Fantastic! I recently went to a local Apple Fest, and when I saw them cooking big vats of apple butter over an open flame, I just had to try it myself. I found this easy recipe, and made some slight changes. I used 4 1/4 pounds of Jonagold apples, 2 cups of dark brown sugar, and one cup of white. I skipped the cloves, and used a bit more cinnamon, and a dash of nutmeg, and I sliced the apples, and left the skin on. I followed the cooking directions exactly, and pureed it in my blender when it was done, and it turned out perfectly - thanks so much for the recipe, Betty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANJACKSON
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Scrumptious!!! I scaled this back as many others have noted to 20 servings - used 5 Royal Gala apples. This absolutely does NOT need the full amount of sugar called for. I cut the sugar in half once I scaled the recipe back to 20 (called for 1 1/4 cups, I used half of that). SO YUMMY, started cooking late yesterday afternoon and let it cook overnight in my crockpot! I am planning on trying this in the Apple Butter Spice Cake on this site :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I gave this recipe 4 stars just because I didn't follow it to a T. I used 5.5 lbs of apples I picked that day and I knew they were VERY sweet so I only put 2c of sugar and it came out pretty sweet so I recommend to anyone to NOT PUT 4C OF SUGAR INTO THIS RECIPE! It'll come disgustingly sweet. I didn't have grnd cloves so I used 1/8tsp of nutmeg and 1/8tsp of all spice and it come out great. I canned four 8oz jars and had some left over to put in a tupperware container to eat NOW because it's tastey. This is the first time I canned anything or made apple butter and both came out great and it's going to make wonderful gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This is by far the best recipe for applebutter....i was low on granulated sugar so my last cup was with light brown sugar...I made a double batch using my turkey roaster....yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
YUM! Wish I could give this another half star because it truly is almost perfect. As written, though, this recipe is just too darned sweet (though delicious, to be sure). I reduced it to 3 cups and liked it even better. I used gala apples. I want to bottle some to give as gifts at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
OMG! This is amazing. I made 50 servings with Fuji apples. To make it healthier I used Splenda instead of real sugar. I cut it down to 2.5 cups instead of 3 cups and it's plenty sweet. No need to use 3 cups with this. I followed others suggestions and increased my cinnamon by almost double. I just made breakfast and used the apple butter on wheat toast. So delicious! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Fabulous! I would agree with most of the other reviews that it turned out very sweet, and I even cut back the sugar by a cup (I actually used 1 1/2 cups brown sugar and 1 1/2 cups white sugar)! Of course my husband loved it-sweet tooth. ;) I didn't chop the apples as finely as I should have to begin with so I (like other members) used a blender once it was all done. I did the initial hour on high, then on low overnight, then lid off on serve setting for about an hour to reduce some of the liquid and it's the perfect consistency and very yummy! I would give 5 stars except for the non mention of type of apples used. I had an abundance of various apples, so I ended up using golden delicious, gala, fuji, and a few others. I'm guessing by the sweetness of the recipe, the original poster used granny smith. But that's just a guess. :) thanks for the recipe! It was lovely and I'll make it again (just maybe with less sugar!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States