All-Chocolate Boston Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I've made this several times now. It's very easy, and delicious. Follow the recipe exactly, and be patient. Allow the cake to cool completely as well as the pudding/filling. Not sure why other reviewers say its bland. Every time I serve it, people are fighting over the last piece. I sprinkled the top with fresh grated chocolate this last version. Also looks great with a white chocolate drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Gilead, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This cake was really disappointing. I had very high expectations. My husband loves Boston Cream Pies and I am a chocoholic. This was just… not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariluh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponce, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Excellent recipe! I made this (with assistance from my 10 and 5 year old boys) for my father in law's birthday. He's a Boston Cream Pie fanatic and was very impressed with this variation. Easy to make using many ingredients already in our cupboard. Just allow enough time to cool the cake and filling before assembling. Also, be sure to allow time for the cake to remain in the fridge before serving time. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TREND2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Fabulous recipe! I've made it several times, including a couple for small birthday celebrations and there are never any leftovers. It's so good, I tried to double it once for a bigger party, which created a salvageable mistake: delicious, chunky chocolate pudding in bowl. So I recommend making the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Tasted good, but it made such a huge mess and took much too long to cook for what it was. I ended up having to make 3 batches of glaze just to cover the top of the cake and the filling tasted exactly like jello chocolate pudding instant mix; I could have saved myself a lot of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This cake was great, but the only problem I had was cutting it into two layers. It cracked right in two after trying to cut it in half, so I ended up making another layer. It ended up being a double layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Absolutely DIVINE!! Everyone loved it! I just finished making the recipe again, but this time I divded up the batter into cupcake tins and then sliced each in half to make 24 little cream cakes-very elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Wonderful recipe....one of the best chocolate cakes I've tried.....I did make some changes like using the filling as the frosting too and covering the whole cake with toasted crushed pecans....it gave some nice texture to the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raindrops

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
To help contain this "cake" I use a "store bought" chocolate crust! I double the amount of custard and cook the cake in two 8" pans (reducing the baking time to 24 minutes). The layering is: pie crust, half custard, cake, remaining custard, cake, then glaze. I get rave reviews for this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States