All-Bran Classic Carrot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
i made these to the recipe, no changes.. they are awesome, i will change up the fruit in them and im thinking they are going to be an always in my freezer for lunches!! Thanks so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I love how these have hardly any sugar, yet, have just the right sweetness. I followed this exactly and am happy with results. Used olive oil, too. May try with a little clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Delicious!!! I didn't have wheat flour and so I used regular and I didn't have buttermilk so I added a tbspoon of white vinegar to regular milk and let it sit5 minutes . These are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
These muffins were very moist and flavorful. Almost too flavorful. I felt the amount of cinnamon and orange zest together were overwhelming. I would reduce the zest to a teaspoon. I might even reduce the cinnamon to a teaspoon as well. Otherwise a really nice, lower sugar, whole grain healthy muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I used whole wheat white flour, only because that was what I had on hand. That was the only change I made. OH! I did soak my raisins in hot chai tea before adding them to my batter recipe. (If you do this, make sure you drain your raisins and pat them dry before adding them to your muffin batter, otherwise your dough will be too wet.) I liked that I didn't have to change anything to this recipe to make it healthier. I was worried that these might come out a little dry but these were absolutely perfect. Flavorful and really super moist. It's almost like a healthier version of spice cake. And I'll tell you, my husband is not a fan of healthy eating at all. He LOVED these. I had to remind him not to go nuts because these are loaded in fiber, but he absolutely loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
These were a hit with young and old. Very moist and chewy. I followed suggestion to use 1 cup all purpose flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat. Next time I plan to experiment and use 1/4 c. brown Splenda as the only sweetener. Also, I used a vintage biscuit baking pan and made muffin tops as well as regular muffin tin. Baked tops for 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I really liked the flavour of these muffins. I did make some changes.... I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup all purpose flour. My daughter really doesn't like raisins or dates so I increased the carrot to 1 1/2 cups and added 3/4 cup grated zucchini. And as I'm typing this I realize I forgot the zest. The batter was very runny and the muffins didn't rize that well....but they tasted great!!! It made 12 small "reg" sized muffins and 24 mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I have never reviewed a recipe before, because there are usually so many others for the recipes I have tried. However, since there was only one for these muffins I thought I would put in my two cents worth. I made a batch of muffins yesterday from the All-Bran website because I didn't have all the ingredients this recipe called for. They were really dry and bland. I actually threw them out. So today I went to the store and bought everything I needed for this recipe. I did as the other reviewer and only used 1 cup of the wheat flour and 1/2 cup white flour. I did use raisins and I also added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts also. I used lemon rind because I had one, but next time I will try orange. I couldn't find the All-Bran Original cereal, so I used the All-Bran Buds instead. In my opinion, the directions were a little odd. What I did was soak the buds in the buttermilk while I combined all the other dry ingredients. Then I put the rest of the ingredients in with the softened cereal. When they were well blended, I added the flour mixture. The batter was very thick. I sprayed the muffin tins with Pam and was able to make 14 big muffins. I baked them for the full 20 minutes. They were done just right. The other reviewer said her batter was runny. I think soaking the cereal first is what made mine so much thicker. Either way, they were very tasty and filling. Fairly healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Terrific! These muffins are yummy, flavorful and moist! I did a few modifications according to tastes. I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and half cup white because I was scared they might be too dense. I left out raisins/dates because my husband hates them and I used orange rind. The batter looked very runny and I was skeptical but they turned out perfect. They are wonderful! This will now become a must-have recipe in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States