All-Around Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I cut this down to one serving to give it a try and WOW - great stuff! It definitely is a nice combination of sweet and heat. Next time I might cut down on the paprika or use smoked paprika for a sweet 'n' smokey version. Although this is meant as a rub I think next time I'll add this to burger meat to punch up regular old burgers - adding about 1 Tbsp. of this for every 1lb. of burger meat. Thanks for the great recipe FTFF! UPDATE: I just couldn't resist trying this with hamburgers so my husband and I made some for lunch and OMG this stuff works wonders! I used a Tbsp. and a half for a little over a pound of ground beef. The burgers came out sensational - moist, juicy with just the right amount of spiciness. We had them on toasted rolls and they really didn't even need anything more than that. These are definitely going on our list of things to make for our annual July 4th bash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
There is nothing better than the combination of sweet and spicy. This rub had both in just the perfect proportions. Made and used with steaks on the grill. Got 5 stars from both the boyfriend AND the father. Needless to say, thanks for such a wonderful concoction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fight the Fat Foodie
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
A little sweet, a little heat, a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fight the Fat Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This worked out really well. I cut this recipe in half and it still made a ton. I didn't have fresh-ground pepper mix so I used just fresh ground pepper. I used only 1 tbsp. of New Mexico chili powder and I cut the cayenne pepper down to 1 tsp. because I was feeding small kids as well as grownups. Three tbsp. of this mix was perfect for a whole family package of chicken legs. My husband BBQ'ed them and they turned out great. I know I altered it a bit but I had to for my kids. Still, good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
My husband had made a similar rub before that he loved but was never able to find the recipe for again - he said this had to have been it! He loves it and loves grilling with it...which makes me a happy woman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
We loved this! It was delicious on chicken so we tried sprinkling it over burgers on the grill. That was fantastic, too. I can't wait to try it on ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Wow, this stuff is amazing! I only made one serving of the rub, which was the perfect amount to test it out on a family pack of chicken legs and thighs. Even so, I had to cut the amount of chili powder in half because the kind I have is the very hot kind, and too much heat wouldn't be good to serve to my son. Also used regular ground black pepper as I don't ever have a pepper mix. This would be great on the bbq for sure. I'll definitely try this with other meats too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Love this! Use it on most meats. I mix ahead in large batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is really good on fish, but I did not like it on my chicken or red meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This is probably a good base to start with, but as is it was not flavorful enough for my family. I will use again but bump up the flavors alot fot us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States