All-Around Good Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This is delicious! I can not eat dairy, so I used almond milk and omitted the yogurt. I used hemp vanilla protein powder. This will be a do over. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Great recipe! Instead of skim milk, I use almond milk. I don't like the phytoestrogens in flax, so I use chia seed in its place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Delicious! A thick, creamy, fruity meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
After drinking this smoothie every morning for the past two and a half years, I felt compelled to review it, praise it, and share a few variations with the allrecipes crowd. I typically begin by pouring 8oz of skim milk in the blender, then add flax seed oil, a tablespoon of agave nectar, 2 teaspoons of powdered dietary fiber, a heaping tablespoon of protein powder, frozen fruit, half cup of non-fat plain yogurt and half a cup of Plain Kefir (Lifeway), blend and enjoy. I normally have the following frozen fruit on hand: blueberry, strawberry, cherry, mixed fruit, raspberry, mixed berry, banana, kiwi, and mango. My favorite combos are strawberry/banana, strawberry/kiwi, cherry/mango, mixed fruit (with a splash of orange juice), raspberry/mango, and blueberry/mango. At least a cup of frozen fruit per serving. I feel like I've covered so many of my dietary needs in the morning with this drink, and the taste and variety is endless! Thanks to AmyJessica for this fabulous, meal replacing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
If you you are using this as a health or diet smoothie, do NOT replace the flax seeds with flax seed oil as some of the commenters suggest. I did some research before trying this smoothie, and although flax seeds are a great source of fiber and protein, flax seed oil is mostly just fat and not nearly as good for you. Some things I did try changing: which fruits I used (kept it seasonal for $ reasons), plain greek yogurt for regular yogurt (makes a VERY creamy, "heftier" smoothie with more protein but less calcium), 1 1/2 tsp honey for 1 tsp because my husband likes it a little sweeter. We also always use almond milk (unflavored) instead of skim milk because we usually buy things in large quantities to save money but don't really like skim milk, so the rest of it kept going to waste. Almond milk works well and we know it will get used before it goes bad. It does make the whole thing taste a little "nuttier" for obvious reasons, though, so if the flax seeds are turning you off, the almond milk probably will too. The contributor is correct - this really is an all-around good smoothie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was a very helpful recipe for me after I got my wisdom teeth removed and couldnt eat. I only changed the plain yogurt to greek coconut flavored yogurt (all i had), and frozen fruits such as mangos and cantelope instead of strawberries. It still turned out good and great for anyone looking to get some added protein!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Yummy! Made this for breakfast using freshly frozen blackberries in place of the strawberries. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Ohhh!!! Very good! The only thing I would recommend is that you put a little less milk. (If you want it less liqud) But over all A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!! Oh And I used frozen blueberries, and no protein powder, oh and full fat yogurt and 2% milk. Oh sosososososooooooooo good!!!! Love, Kellie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellie1000
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Great smoothie recipe! Simple and easy for those who need something they can take on the go in the morning. Tastes delicious with the fresh strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Tastes like flavored, watered down yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States