All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Good basic solid recipe. I did have to substitute a sirloin tip roast as my butcher did not have any eye of round left. I also had to tinker with the cooking time but did use a meat thermometer and Tracycook's review was helpful. I like my meat medium rare and took my roast out of the oven when it hit 125 on the meat thermometer and let it sit for 15 minutes but I think her suggestion of taking it out at 120 is better if you like medium rare. My roast was beefy meaty deliciousness though a little more overdone than I would choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angeldylanluke
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Ok.....really.....Just made this tonight and it was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! You really just need to try it! Don't do anything extra...just make as stated. Used an internal thermostat for the roast....pulled it out of the oven when the temp got to 120....for my roast that was 3.12 lbs, it was about 1 hour 15 minutes. Let it sit and the temp rose to 135. Was PERFECT! A little red, but just perfect for us! I feel so accomplished right now.....Making a Roast Beef was always my biggest fear....Now I know I can make this for company w/o a panic attack! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldylanluke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Great flavor!! We followed our electronic meat thermometer to rare, which was 140 degrees and it ended up medium and a little dried out. Next time will follow another reviewers advice and pull it out at 120. We made gravy from the drippings and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
It's time to throw away your slow cookers & cook a beef roast the way it was meant to be. I added more seasoning for our taste, but other than that followed this recipe to the letter. This very simple recipe turned out the best roast I've ever made, & I've been cooking for a very long time. Do not skip tying the roast for a very tender, moist roast. This really is so much better than boiling/steaming meat in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I scaled the recipe and cooked just one pound. But it ook 55 minutes to get to medium rare! Once it was finally done, the meat was just ok. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Worked great. The temperature was ideal, I did cook it longer, I like it medium well. Nice start to have a tender roast, not burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I really wanted to give this at least four stars, but the flavor was not there. Even my 9 year old said "it's bland". The cooking directions are dead on, the roast was moist and medium rare. Nice and tender, but BLAND.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Not BCrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I had two 2.35 lb. roasts, which I tied, brushed with browning sauce and seasoned with the salt, pepper and garlic powder. I roasted them both on the same rack on a rimmed baking pan. They took approx. 70 minutes to roast in the 375 oven (I took them out to rest when my meat thermometer read 130), reaching a perfect medium-rare temperature. Totally juicy,tender, and flavorful, I wouldn't have believed a cheap cut of meat like this could produce such great results. I will roast my eye of the round roasts using this method from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I followed the directions almost exactly. The only changes I made were not to tie it, and also to cut 3 long slits across the top of the roast and stuff these with sliced garlic cloves (3 large cloves). I thought that the cooking directions were spot on, the roast turned out perfectly and was delicious! The spices were just right. My hubby loved it too. I don't think we will be making a roast any other way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is EXACTLY what I came to allrecipes looking for. I'm not cooking roast beef often and forget the basic temp/timing info. Note to self: Take the roast out of fridge to come to room temp before putting in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States