All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was perfect! I was leery of cooking without water, but it turned out absolutely tender and delicious. TRACYCOOK's suggestions worked great. Definitely use a meat thermometer and not rely on the time given, take it out of the oven at 120, let it sit to remain cooking while you prep the rest of the meal. I will be making this often. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made this tonight!.. It turned out Excellent!! I followed the directions, I did just what the recipe says! DELICIOUS!!! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I had tried this recipe twice. Both times I kept it in the oven for the recommended 20 minutes oer pound, turned the oven off and had to remove the roast because it was heating up too much too quickly - I literally roasted a 2.5lb eye round from countertop (room temp!) to dinner table in and hour and 20 minutes. With that being said, I remove it from the oven at 120 and both times it was still way too far into the medium-medium well category. DO NOT OVERESTIMATE THE TEMPERATURE. You want to take this out when the temp will not rise much more as it sits on the counter BUT you also want it to sit long enough to redistribute the juices. Also, I learned that I like rosemary, onion powder, granulated garlic, salt and pepper in a fairly large quantity compared to what is suggested. My
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Best recipe ever - I have tried tons of recipes and the beef is always over cooked. This method cooked it exactly the way we like it. Finally found a way to enjoy roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I've been making this recipe for a while now. The only variation I have is to sear the meat before roasting. I generously season it with a salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder blend. It is so juicy and tender! The only draw back is the lack of escaped juices to make a gravy with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
It was as good as i expected. It was as easy as i expected. If your not sure of accuracy of your ovens temperature, keep an eye on the roast. Keep in mind the roast will continue to cook after you pull it from the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim True
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday and it came out perfect. I used a top round - what I had on hand. This is the classic "Beef on Weck" beef recipe. We couldn't stop eating it (with a little horseradish of course) Best fast beef roast recipe out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Made this as directed with a six pound eye round. Cooked at 375 F as directed until internal temperature reached 125 F, about 1 hour, 50 minutes. Removed and covered loosely with aluminum foil while I baked the bread for 25 minutes. Internal temperature reached 145 F. by the time I carved it, about 35 minutes after removing from the oven. It was tender, juicy, and flavorful. I was skeptical about using eye round because I have found it to be rather tough. This was better than expected and my dinner guests and I loved it. Served with mashed potatoes and green bean casserole, homemade baguettes and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
The only thing I changed was I oiled with canola oil after i tied it up and cooked fat side up. 60 min perfect roast and i used D's Skillet Gravy. What a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vicki8692
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Very easy recipe. I did not tie roast and it came out fine. I did sear the exterior first and then cooked at 325. Meat was very juicy. Key to be generous with seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States