All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
The temperature and timing on this recipe is perfect--this roast beef is meant to be rare and this recipe does a bang up job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YVONNETOND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Absolutely delicious. Don't listen to the people who said this comes out dry. It doesn't. They probably cooked it too long. You should use a thermometer, however, to avoid this. I pulled the roast out when the temp read 130, and it eventually climbed to 145, or medium rare. I did double the spices as I like lots of flavor. I will use this recipe again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
The time and temperature of this recipe worked perfect. Here's a lil tip for those of you having problems with the cooking time. Invest in a stand alone oven thermometer, preheat your oven with the thermometer exactly where you will be placing your roast, if it does not say 375, than adjust your temperature accordingly. When I did this I had to lower the temperature to 300 degrees in order to maintain the 375. Every oven is different so dont trust that because you set it for 375 necessarily means it is actually 375 in the area of the oven you are cooking in. Heat rises, even in your oven, so the higher your rack is, the hotter the temperature you are cooking in. This recipe was top notch! Best roast I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaryTee
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was amazing. I seasoned a 3lb beef round top, round roast (Rancher Reserve, the grade is similar to Certified Angus Beef)liberally with the seasonings listed in the recipe. I didn't measure it, I just made sure I coated the entire roast. In addition, I also used dried thyme. Placed it on a racked roast pan and let it sit on the counter for 40-45 mins. I used red potatoes, carrots, and onions & tossed them in olive oil, kosher salt, black pepper, and a sprinkle of dried thyme. Cooked for 60 minutes @ 375 with 15 minutes rest gave us the perfect medium rare. It was divine, tasted like a prime rib that has been roasting all day. It was so moist and tender--I will have to have this once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was the first time I ever made a beef roast and it turned out great! I added a cup of water as suggested by others. It was moist, juicy and tender. (I did make a rookie mistake of bringing the meat straight from the refrigerator to the oven, so it took a little longer to cook.) This got the highest compliment from our house: an enthustiastic "We can have this again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Thank you, thank you for a great, easy recipe that everyone who ate it loved. My son asked for the recipe! This is quick and easy enough for a weeknight meal, but special enough for Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I am sure this is a five star recipe because this is how i make mine, however new cooks PLEASE TAKE NOTE, not all brands of beef are the same! i ONLY use angus beef, if you are buying a cut at walmart you will be disapointed. spend the little extra and buy a better brand of beef. also the more rare the temp the more tender it will be. certain cuts to not take well to well done. as another reviewer said use a thermometer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
My family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARYDIAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This is the method my grandmother and mother taught me. It never fails. I'm making a 6 lb eye of round for Sunday dinner tomorrow. I like to roast new potatoes and baby carrots with the meat. Produces fantastic flavor and texture without adding any water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This roast turned out absolutely delicious. The cook time is right on for a perfect medium rare! I used sea salt instead of kosher and it turned out so flavorful. Thanks so much for the recipe, my husband and I really enjoyed this and I'll definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States