All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I fixed an eye-of-the-round (2 lbs) last night and was disappointed. Roasted the beef about 45-50 minutes at 375. The instructions said 20 min/lb=40 minutes and yet it was still a bit rarer than medium rare--red with bloody juices. Also, the beef was tough even though I sliced it thinly with an electric knife. I used a cooking thermometer but it didn't register properly. I also tried an instant meat thermometer after I took the beef out of the oven and I couldn't get an accurate reading. I almost always have bad luck with thermometers and I am greatful for the pop-up on turkeys!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I followed the recipe to a T, however, I added a few Teaspoons of water to the bottom just to give the juices a head start. Well I should have added more becuase there really weren't any juices till I started slicing the meat. While the meat was very juicy I didn't have any drippings to make the gravy. I made that from scratch using "D's Skillet Gravy" featured on here. I did find the meat to be a little tougher but I think it's because of the cut of meat (Eye Round)I would suggest using a 1/2 cup of water next time. I will make again for sure! Thanks for the EASY recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I certainly agree with the reviewer who cautioned that there is a difference between "pot" roast and "roast beef". This is recipe is for roast beef - not pot roast, which is cooked with liquids. Also, one reviewer stated that you won't get the same results with beef purchased at Walmart; the same goes for Winco. You need to purchase a good cut of meat to get the flavor and tenderness you want. I, too invest in Angus beef, or Choice, the latter being available at Costco. Look at the grading on the meat you are buying. I also agree with another reviewer who says to not only use a oven thermometer to test the oven heat, but the reviewer also says to put the thermometer on the oven shelf you are using and set oven temperature accordingly, so that the temperature on that shelf reads 375 degrees on the thermometer. Kudos to these reviewers - right on! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Keep in mind that there is a difference between pot roast and roast beef. This roast beef recipe is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is a good method to cook a roast. I gave it 4 stars because there is room for improvement on the seasonings. I like to cut cloves of GARLIC into chunks and make little slits all over the roast about and inch or two deep and insert the garlic chunks into the roast. The garlic flavor that infuses throughout the middle of the roast is AMAZING! The garlic gets slightly sweet and mild when roasting. Then season the ouside of roast and brown on the stove top in a touch of oil on med low heat until carmel brown and then deglaze the pan with broth(1/2 cup or more),red wine(1/2 cup or more), and add bay leaf and Thyme to flavor the gravy. Of course I add the onion,carrot,potatoes,mushrooms and sometimes celery at the last hour and baste them with the juices every now and then. When roast is resting after pulled from the oven place vegetables in a bowl and reduce the pan juices on stove top. If gravy tastes to salty then add broth or water to dilute. Over medium high heat thicken the gravy with a slurry of flour mixed with water til smooth and whisk into drippings until gravy thickens. Season with Salt n pepper if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Results may vary... If you want a tender, melt-in-your-mouth roast, cook in a covered Dutch oven. I dredge my roast in flour seasoned with salt & peper, brown in a bit of oil or shortening. Use a shaker to put 3 T of the remaining flour and seasoning of choice in 3.5 C of water and add to roast. Cover and bake @ 325F for 3.5 hrs. One hour before done, add cut potatoes and carrots. Viola! You have roast, veggies and gravy! If gravy is too think, remove roast, add water and boil on top of stove until correct. If too thin, add thickener and boil. My husband, who is a box-mix cook, loved the sense of accomplishment from his first award-winning roast/meal. Works with pork roast, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
No matter the cut of the meat to be roasted, I always sear it on all sides in a hot oiled skillet. I like the addition of a bay leaf or two. As with others, I add LOTS of potatoes, carrots, onions and mushrooms toward the end of the cook time. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I made only one change - When I roast anything in my oven, it is in an unglazed Romertopf clay pot. EVERYTHING roasts better in that. I have a medium sized one and a large one that can handle duck or small turkeys. I highly recommend them! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Alright, there are alot of people out their that just don't know how good a eye of round roast could be if they knew how to cook it right! I make a marinade- 1/3 cup tomatoe sauce, 1/4 cup soy sauce, 1/2 cup olive oil, 1/3 cup water, Seasoning ( I use a gourmet grill seasoning) it has garlic, rosemary, thyme, crushed peppers, etc.) Let marinate for 24-48 hours. I always cook my roast on the grill, 20 min. per pound. I also let my roast sit at room temp. before grilling. Very important, let rest at least 20-30 min. after cooking, all the juices will lock in. I will use this for sliced meat for wraps or any sandwich. It is much cheaper and way more delicious than deli meat. If cooking in oven, sit on a rack, cook on 475 for 12 min. turn down temp. to 325, cook 20 min. per pound. This will lock in all juices. This is one of the meats I cook for Christmas, everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Follow the way Tracycook makes the roast and never add any liquid to the pan as it will result in a tough mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States