All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This is a good way to cook an eye roast. Suggestion: I read the debates on moist vs dry cooking. My husband taught me the best way to cook this meat using almost the same recipe except he used a hybrid of the moist vs dry. Put the meat on a rack and add water to the bottom of the pan but not touching the meat. Periodically check it, if the water has burn off add some more - do not add too much because it will water down gravy and you definitely do not want that because this makes great gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
i haven't tried yet but reading the reviews we might try 15 mins a lb and reaching 115 to 120 to get the really rare we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Recipe was simple and straightforward... I used a meat thermometer and echo recommendation to pull beef out at 120 degrees...... One note - the beef really lacked any special taste, pretty bland. It's a solid faithful recipe, maybe consider tasty sauce to complement it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Young
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
very simple !! great cooking times and temps . made in small Dutch oven no cover:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This was very easy and came out perfectly. I had two roasts, one for med rare the other for medium. I wrapped the med rare in foil and let the other one cook a bit longer. They were very juicy and there was enough drippings for a great gravy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Very good! I cooked it exactly as written and it came out a perfect medium rare! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
It would be interesting to know which reviewers used electric vs. gas ovens. Combustion of gas produces carbon dioxide and water vapor, which might contribute to a moister roast. A separate pan of water in the oven might mimic this. Starting with a room temp roast, preheated oven and meat thermometer are essential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was okay, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Losurdo Cassidy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
My daughter and I made this for Sunday dinner-my first attempt and hers and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Whether you have a gas or electric oven . . . makes all the difference. Whatever a recipe temperature says, if you're using a gas oven, lower 15 degrees . . . for everything. Make sure the roast has been in the rack with aluminum foil underneath that has been coated with Crisco at room temp. for at least an hour. Using my gas oven, I prefer to preheat to 535 degrees and turn immediately to 350 degrees when putting the roast in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States