All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Very good! I cooked it exactly as written and it came out a perfect medium rare! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
It would be interesting to know which reviewers used electric vs. gas ovens. Combustion of gas produces carbon dioxide and water vapor, which might contribute to a moister roast. A separate pan of water in the oven might mimic this. Starting with a room temp roast, preheated oven and meat thermometer are essential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was okay, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Losurdo Cassidy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
My daughter and I made this for Sunday dinner-my first attempt and hers and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Whether you have a gas or electric oven . . . makes all the difference. Whatever a recipe temperature says, if you're using a gas oven, lower 15 degrees . . . for everything. Make sure the roast has been in the rack with aluminum foil underneath that has been coated with Crisco at room temp. for at least an hour. Using my gas oven, I prefer to preheat to 535 degrees and turn immediately to 350 degrees when putting the roast in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This recipe saved my day! I promised a focus group that I would feed them a real meal in exchange for their time, but to my horror the recipe that I was using would have taken five hours, and I only had two. My only addition was basting lightly with a little sour cream and garlic, and it was the most beautiful beef I've ever made. Red in the center, brown crusty outside, garnered awe and wonder when I took the tinfoil off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Always just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegrizzo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Excellent results. I have seared my roast 1st and also just put it in the hot oven. Either way it works very well. I mix the salt, pepper and garlic powder and then rub the roast. I have also crushed a clove of garlic and rubbed the roast b4 adding the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
It came out great. I rubbed the roast with salt, pepper, garlic, rosemary and a little cayenne pepper. About 30 minutes before it was done I added thick sliced red potatoes tossed with olive oil, garlic powder, black pepper, salt and rosemary and put them around the roast. While the roast was resting the potatoes finished cooking. I'll definitely be making it this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Very pleased with my results! Purchases 5lb,tied eye of round beef roast. After reading many reviews, I coated the entire roast with a seasoned rub -purchased at local grocery. I let the roast sit with rub on for 20 minutes then placed it on a rack (in roaster) in a pre-heated 375 degree oven. Cooked it to 120 degrees international temp and let it sit to rest after roasting. It was PERFECT! Beautiful pink center with more doneness to edges. I would go a little less on the rub Next time. Very, very good! Not dry. Not tough as other comments suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States