All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This was fantastic. I follow the recipe added no water but was nervous because I have never done that. Paid off however it did take a little longer, I think 15-20 more minutes. THANKS for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Spencerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Followed as written as that is the way to review a recipe. I hate when people change everything and review what is then a whole different recipe. My roast turned out very good. It was not overdone (med-rare) and very juicy. TY poster :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
To those who want to add liquid to this recipe, you are not cooking a pot roast here. This is a rare to medium rare roast. Not only can you use the Eye of the round roast, but a Sirloin tip roast works well too. You can also do a standing rib roast in a similar manner. This is the type of roast to cook and slice up for sandwiches, or as listed with mashed potatoes and gravy. This is a great basic recipe. For a pot roast it will take a totally different cut and cook at lower temperatures with liquid for 4-5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
this roast turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Komet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RevConrad
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Enjoyed it had made it for our 4tth of july barbecue. I didn't tie it because i didn't have the string. I added some water for moister. The family absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RevConrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
oooooo emmmmm geeeeeee in the words of my kids while they were eating this...lol....this was so delicious I will def always cook my pot roast like this...i also took advice from previous reviews and added beef broth to the bottom of pan while cooking...i also added a bit more spices to it like adobo seasoned salt and paprika .....the aroma in the house was amazing and the juice from the roast on top of meat was sooo good....thank you so much for recipe!!!! I love this website!!!!I made with mashed potatoes and asparagus....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AquaLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was very yummy...My kids and granddaughter loved it .Its a keeper and I used Ds skillet gravy from this website on my roast and potatoes and my family loved it..My daughter doesnt care for roasts but she had seconds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This is a great basic/classic recipe. I have always been a bit afraid to try a roast again. It always seems like they turn out overdone and tough. I followed this recipe to a "T" and it turned out quite nice. It was just a touch tougher than I was hoping, but still an awesome recipe that I will certainly keep. I will try letting it stand for a while before cooking the next time I make it. Perhaps, that will aid in making it more tender. As a side note...I highly recommend purchasing a meat thermometer that is ment to bake with the roast. I read in a review of this recipe to do so. It made a big diference for me. I felt confident that the meat was at the preferred level of doneness...it was just that...perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I guess I was always under-seasoning my roasts because after trying this recipe my family raved about the flavor! Really tasty, tender and yummy! I have also used this on a pork roast with equally delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This really had a nice taste to it. I thought for sure it would be dry, but to my surprise it was perfect. Next time I am going to use an eye round. I used a top round and it was a little tuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States