All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Very pleased with my results! Purchases 5lb,tied eye of round beef roast. After reading many reviews, I coated the entire roast with a seasoned rub -purchased at local grocery. I let the roast sit with rub on for 20 minutes then placed it on a rack (in roaster) in a pre-heated 375 degree oven. Cooked it to 120 degrees international temp and let it sit to rest after roasting. It was PERFECT! Beautiful pink center with more doneness to edges. I would go a little less on the rub Next time. Very, very good! Not dry. Not tough as other comments suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
So quick and effortless. Great flavour.thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
The cooking process was spot on! I had a 3 pound bottom round roast that I took out of the fridge several hours before I was ready to cook. It is important to let your roast get to room temp before cooking to ensure even cooking throughout. I cooked for 20/mins per pound at 375 degrees and it was a perfect 120 degrees when I took it out of the oven. I wrapped in foil and let sit for about 20-30 mins until I was ready to serve it. I gave this 4 stars because of not enough seasoning. I doubled the seasoning and it still wasn't enough. Next time I will use more salt and pepper, fresh garlic, and thyme and make a paste to rub all over the roast. I will wrap it in foil and refrigerate overnight to get more flavor into this roast. This is a tough cut of meat, so be sure you have a very sharp knife or an electric one to slice very thin. It is wonderful! Thanks for the great cooking technique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This roast was delicious! Followed the directions exactly and was rewarded with a beautiful, medium-rare (more on the rarer side), flavorful and tender roast. You definitely need to cook this roast on a rack, so the heat can circulate freely around the roast & don't skimp on the resting time! It was a big hit with my family and tonight we will use the leftovers for French dips. Thank you for a fantastic & easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karma W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this last night for dinner and it was awesome. I've never been too successful cooking a roast beef for slicing until this recipe. Please use a meat therm instead of the standard 20 min/lb - my roast cooked much quicker. I pulled it out at 120 and I let it sit about 30 min before slicing. Perfectly pink throughout. No red. Thank you for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I peddle blooms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I am a vegetarian who cooked this roast beef recipe exactly as it was written today for 30 family members. My family loved it! Thank you for the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was perfect! I was leery of cooking without water, but it turned out absolutely tender and delicious. TRACYCOOK's suggestions worked great. Definitely use a meat thermometer and not rely on the time given, take it out of the oven at 120, let it sit to remain cooking while you prep the rest of the meal. I will be making this often. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made this tonight!.. It turned out Excellent!! I followed the directions, I did just what the recipe says! DELICIOUS!!! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I had tried this recipe twice. Both times I kept it in the oven for the recommended 20 minutes oer pound, turned the oven off and had to remove the roast because it was heating up too much too quickly - I literally roasted a 2.5lb eye round from countertop (room temp!) to dinner table in and hour and 20 minutes. With that being said, I remove it from the oven at 120 and both times it was still way too far into the medium-medium well category. DO NOT OVERESTIMATE THE TEMPERATURE. You want to take this out when the temp will not rise much more as it sits on the counter BUT you also want it to sit long enough to redistribute the juices. Also, I learned that I like rosemary, onion powder, granulated garlic, salt and pepper in a fairly large quantity compared to what is suggested. My
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Best recipe ever - I have tried tons of recipes and the beef is always over cooked. This method cooked it exactly the way we like it. Finally found a way to enjoy roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States