All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I followed the temp instructions etc, and everything went smoothly! The meat was tender, medium rare, and overall a hit! I added beef broth and sliced shallots to the bottom of my roasting pan while cooking. This made for a great gravy once thickened. I served this with mashed sweet potatoes and baby peas. My husband kissed me and said he loves his cook! hahahah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I made this roast beef today. I never made a roast beef so I search for a recipe and this is the one I got and decided to use it! My meal came out great! I did keep the roast in longer than suggested. I had a 4lb roast and at 1hr 20 min I checked it with my thermoter and it read 110. So I kept it longer until temp was 140 and it was great. I personally like a touch less pink but my company raved about it. I also put some beef broth in the pan after about 30 minutes and then some water twice more. Definintely give this recipe a try! I used eye round as suggested by my Dad and the recipe, it is the best cut for roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
OK...the cut of meat you use can make this recipe a winner or an utter disaster!!!I made this recipe using 2 different cuts of beef, a top round roast that was tied into a neat little bundle and a ranch cut top round roast. I used a little beef stock in the pan for both roasts. The bundled top roast was like a brick of cardboard!!!! However, the ranch cut roast was the most delicious piece of juicy goodness I have ever had the pleasure of devouring!!!! Served it with horseradish sauce.....OH MY GOODNESS!!!! So, I will definately use this recipe for as long as I have teeth to chew with....using the right cut of meat, of course!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This is a very good roast beef recipe. I use it all the time. It has become one of our regular meals. My kids and my husband just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Good recipe. I used this recipe for the cooking time & the type of beef to buy. The cooking time is right on the money. Instead of using the recipe's rub I just used a package of onion soup & then added a cup of water. The roast came out medium/medium rare & tender. I did use the rub the recipe calls for once before & it was tasty...however I didn't add water & it was a little tough. All in all a good recipe as long as you add some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This was great! I have always loved roast beef, but this is the first time I have made it (since my husband hasn't eaten beef since long before I met him because of a food poisoning experience). I finally decided I was going to make a roast, even if I would be the only one to eat it. Well, my husband thought it smelled so good he decided to try a piece... and then had three more! He has actually requested this be added to our regular rotation! In short, this was good enough to hook someone who hasn't eaten beef for 8 years! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemantiTheft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Thank goodness for this recipe - I accidently threw out the instructions for the beef roast that I bought for a dinner party for nine, but these instructions worked well! Perfect medium rare - I left the beef in a little longer than the recipe stated, as I had 3 pieces of meat in one pan (each about 2 pounds) so figured it would need longer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This is absolutely the best roast beef I have ever tasted - I've made it twice in the past 2 weeks. With the exception of using an eye roast, I used a bottom round both times and followed the recipe exactly. Perfecto!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This recipe is a keeper! It's the first time I've ever made a roast beef meal. Took the advice of using a meat thermometer, cooking to 120 degrees with water in the bottom of the pan. I like a little blood tenderness. Next time I will cook at 275 instead of 200 degrees. Took too long. I made the mistake of not cooking a watery soup base dip or gravy for the beef. Will hunt for that next time. A great meal for company without the cost of prime rib roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Easy to do and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States