All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This was wonderful. Please don't pass this up because of reviews saying cooking this way will result in a tough dinner - they surely didn't try it. As others have suggested, make sure your oven temp is accurate, a meat thermometer is a plus and the REAL secret is allowing the meat to rest, covered, for 15 or so minutes while you prepare the rest of your meal. (take the meat out before it reaches the desired temperature, as it cooks a bit more while it rests) Eye of round is a nice lean cut of meat - and it does NOT benefit from boiling it as some would suggest. You will not get a fall apart shreddy kind of roast - this will be a nice moist firm roast that slices nicely, and there is no waste. Stick to the recipe, use the right cut of meat and follow the directions and you won't be disappointed. And you'll have flavorful juice all over your cutting board to moisten the meat after you cut it. I added a bit of thyme to the seasoning mix, as my family loves beef with thyme, but i would not suggest any liquids be added. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
939 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
The cooking time and temperature were PERFECT! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
My husband was in heaven with every bite of this roast. Along with the salt and pepper, I also added minced garlic, and a bit of beef broth in the bottom of the pan. It was a wee bit tough,but of course I couldn't help but taste it as I was slicing it, and I noticed that after slicing, I put it in a dish, poured the juices over and let it sit, it seemed to get very, very tender. We loved it with horseradish sauce! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
this was by far the best roast beef. i can't believe how easy it is!! i have tried others w/more ingredients and they didn't come close to this - it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Taste Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by svetka69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I've used this recipe several times and with different cuts of beef. It always turns out excellent. In addition to the listed ingredients, I also insert fresh garlic into the roast. I also lay the roast on a bed of onions and drizzle it with olive oil, balsamic vinegar and red wine. Part way through the cooking I add mushrooms, more onions and some peppers around the roast. It is so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Bravo!!!!!! I was about to give up trying to cook beef until today!! I decided to try a Roast Beef recipe I found on All Recipes. Before seasoning the roast I rubbed it with a light coat of Smart Choice oil, and a coursely grained steak seasoning. I used the onion slices for the rack according to the recipe. For the liquid I used approx.2 cups of water, and 1/2 cup of cooking sherry for for flavor. I had plenty of liquid for the Au Jus. Because my family likes beef well done I decreased the oven setting a bit (325)and increased the cooking time to 2 hours. The roast came out heavenly!! Thanks to the wonderful cooks at All Recipes. Again I say Bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Made this last night and I must say it was good. I added a LOT of garlic by placing 1/2 glove under each of the strings and even more on the inside. Made a rub with steak seasoning and pepper. My husband said the garlic was strong, but since he said it as he was going for seconds, I didn't take that as too much of a complaint. Also, cooked it a bit longer than suggested because we like medium well/well rather than medium. Nice job! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Delicious. I love roast beef. I don't add any liquid to the bottom of the roasting pan, basically you're steaming instead of roasting then... and you don't get the lovely bits of caramelized meat juices to creat the perfect gravy from. Throw some peeled par-boiled potatoes in around the roast if it doesn't crowd the pan too much. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
It is simple and flavorful. Definitely add liquid to the pan while cooking in order to avoid toughness. I added potatoes and carrots, The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States