All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by MaryTee
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was amazing. I seasoned a 3lb beef round top, round roast (Rancher Reserve, the grade is similar to Certified Angus Beef)liberally with the seasonings listed in the recipe. I didn't measure it, I just made sure I coated the entire roast. In addition, I also used dried thyme. Placed it on a racked roast pan and let it sit on the counter for 40-45 mins. I used red potatoes, carrots, and onions & tossed them in olive oil, kosher salt, black pepper, and a sprinkle of dried thyme. Cooked for 60 minutes @ 375 with 15 minutes rest gave us the perfect medium rare. It was divine, tasted like a prime rib that has been roasting all day. It was so moist and tender--I will have to have this once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was the first time I ever made a beef roast and it turned out great! I added a cup of water as suggested by others. It was moist, juicy and tender. (I did make a rookie mistake of bringing the meat straight from the refrigerator to the oven, so it took a little longer to cook.) This got the highest compliment from our house: an enthustiastic "We can have this again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Thank you, thank you for a great, easy recipe that everyone who ate it loved. My son asked for the recipe! This is quick and easy enough for a weeknight meal, but special enough for Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I am sure this is a five star recipe because this is how i make mine, however new cooks PLEASE TAKE NOTE, not all brands of beef are the same! i ONLY use angus beef, if you are buying a cut at walmart you will be disapointed. spend the little extra and buy a better brand of beef. also the more rare the temp the more tender it will be. certain cuts to not take well to well done. as another reviewer said use a thermometer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
My family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARYDIAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This is the method my grandmother and mother taught me. It never fails. I'm making a 6 lb eye of round for Sunday dinner tomorrow. I like to roast new potatoes and baby carrots with the meat. Produces fantastic flavor and texture without adding any water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This roast turned out absolutely delicious. The cook time is right on for a perfect medium rare! I used sea salt instead of kosher and it turned out so flavorful. Thanks so much for the recipe, my husband and I really enjoyed this and I'll definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I have actually used this same receipe ever since my Mother passed it on down to me and it's the Greatest ever. I do use, as my Mother did make the gravy with a spice called Gravy Master.. Hmmm Good... Thank You as I forgot the oven temp...Robert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHLOVER56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
was looking for an economical cut that my picky son would like. Followed recipe, but it was too tough for his tastes. Guess we'll have to stick to higher quality cuts a little less often! Carla in L.A.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I always do add about a cup of water to the bottom of my pan before cooking and I like to add a bit of onion to it as well but this is by far the best recipe for roasting beef and it can be altered to anyone's taste-for example I noticed that someone used a bit of red wine, another person mushrooms, and so on. To me the best recipes allow you to add your own flair to it anyway. I vote this is a great recipe and it's a great one for beginners as it's pretty hard to mess this one up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States