All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Before cooking, I rub the roast with a little oil (olive or canola), then I combine 2 tbsp flour with the garlic powder, salt & pepper and rub over the roast. Sometimes I add dried thyme or oregano. I use the 375/20 min per lb rule and it always comes out perfect! Letting it rest before serving is a MUST though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I put the roast in a ziploc bag and poured in enough red wine to cover it, put it back in the fridge and let it sit all day. An hour before putting it into the oven, I took the bag out of the fridge and let it sit on the counter to bring the meat closer to room temperature. I took the meat out of the bag and rubbed the garlic, salt, and pepper on the fat only and put it fat side up in the roasting pan. Then I added a can of beef broth (the Campbell's double strength) and half a can of water to the roaster before sticking it in the oven. I roasted it at 375 for about an hour and 10 minutes, and when I took it out of the oven, it was registering 120-125 degrees on the meat thermometer. I let it sit for 15-20 minutes before slicing. It was so juicy and cooked perfectly. I don't think I'll use another recipe for roast beef ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this for my mom's birthday tonight and it was perfect! Not a bit dry, excellent flavor, and cooked exactly right. I followed recipe just as it is written. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This is a wonderful "classic" roast beef recipe. I think those who don't like this method are wanting more of a pot roast, not Roast Beef. I don't think anyone would cook a standing rib roast in water. This is similar. I wouldn't think it would be good if it is cooked well done either. I found it to be a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Loved this recipe!!! So tasty and tender and yet, sooooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This is, by far, the simplest and best way to do a nice cut of roast. I tried boiling as some suggested and it does not compare! It is imperative to use the cut as suggested to acheive the wonderful flavor of this recipe. YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deposit, New York, USA
Living In: Endicott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This was very flavorful and tasty. I bought my roast at Walmart and I guess you get what you pay for...if I had bought a nicer cut I'm sure it would have turned out a 5 star rating. Thanks, this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was just ok for me. I cooked it at the exact temp. & time as noted in the recipe and left it sitting after cooking it for 15 minutes but the middle was still raw. THe taste was good on the cooked parts though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This was wonderful. Please don't pass this up because of reviews saying cooking this way will result in a tough dinner - they surely didn't try it. As others have suggested, make sure your oven temp is accurate, a meat thermometer is a plus and the REAL secret is allowing the meat to rest, covered, for 15 or so minutes while you prepare the rest of your meal. (take the meat out before it reaches the desired temperature, as it cooks a bit more while it rests) Eye of round is a nice lean cut of meat - and it does NOT benefit from boiling it as some would suggest. You will not get a fall apart shreddy kind of roast - this will be a nice moist firm roast that slices nicely, and there is no waste. Stick to the recipe, use the right cut of meat and follow the directions and you won't be disappointed. And you'll have flavorful juice all over your cutting board to moisten the meat after you cut it. I added a bit of thyme to the seasoning mix, as my family loves beef with thyme, but i would not suggest any liquids be added. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
895 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
The cooking time and temperature were PERFECT! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States