All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Results may vary... If you want a tender, melt-in-your-mouth roast, cook in a covered Dutch oven. I dredge my roast in flour seasoned with salt & peper, brown in a bit of oil or shortening. Use a shaker to put 3 T of the remaining flour and seasoning of choice in 3.5 C of water and add to roast. Cover and bake @ 325F for 3.5 hrs. One hour before done, add cut potatoes and carrots. Viola! You have roast, veggies and gravy! If gravy is too think, remove roast, add water and boil on top of stove until correct. If too thin, add thickener and boil. My husband, who is a box-mix cook, loved the sense of accomplishment from his first award-winning roast/meal. Works with pork roast, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
No matter the cut of the meat to be roasted, I always sear it on all sides in a hot oiled skillet. I like the addition of a bay leaf or two. As with others, I add LOTS of potatoes, carrots, onions and mushrooms toward the end of the cook time. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I made only one change - When I roast anything in my oven, it is in an unglazed Romertopf clay pot. EVERYTHING roasts better in that. I have a medium sized one and a large one that can handle duck or small turkeys. I highly recommend them! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Alright, there are alot of people out their that just don't know how good a eye of round roast could be if they knew how to cook it right! I make a marinade- 1/3 cup tomatoe sauce, 1/4 cup soy sauce, 1/2 cup olive oil, 1/3 cup water, Seasoning ( I use a gourmet grill seasoning) it has garlic, rosemary, thyme, crushed peppers, etc.) Let marinate for 24-48 hours. I always cook my roast on the grill, 20 min. per pound. I also let my roast sit at room temp. before grilling. Very important, let rest at least 20-30 min. after cooking, all the juices will lock in. I will use this for sliced meat for wraps or any sandwich. It is much cheaper and way more delicious than deli meat. If cooking in oven, sit on a rack, cook on 475 for 12 min. turn down temp. to 325, cook 20 min. per pound. This will lock in all juices. This is one of the meats I cook for Christmas, everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Follow the way Tracycook makes the roast and never add any liquid to the pan as it will result in a tough mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I have found that top sirloin roast is a much more tender cut of meat for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
The temperature and timing on this recipe is perfect--this roast beef is meant to be rare and this recipe does a bang up job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YVONNETOND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Absolutely delicious. Don't listen to the people who said this comes out dry. It doesn't. They probably cooked it too long. You should use a thermometer, however, to avoid this. I pulled the roast out when the temp read 130, and it eventually climbed to 145, or medium rare. I did double the spices as I like lots of flavor. I will use this recipe again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
The time and temperature of this recipe worked perfect. Here's a lil tip for those of you having problems with the cooking time. Invest in a stand alone oven thermometer, preheat your oven with the thermometer exactly where you will be placing your roast, if it does not say 375, than adjust your temperature accordingly. When I did this I had to lower the temperature to 300 degrees in order to maintain the 375. Every oven is different so dont trust that because you set it for 375 necessarily means it is actually 375 in the area of the oven you are cooking in. Heat rises, even in your oven, so the higher your rack is, the hotter the temperature you are cooking in. This recipe was top notch! Best roast I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaryTee
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was amazing. I seasoned a 3lb beef round top, round roast (Rancher Reserve, the grade is similar to Certified Angus Beef)liberally with the seasonings listed in the recipe. I didn't measure it, I just made sure I coated the entire roast. In addition, I also used dried thyme. Placed it on a racked roast pan and let it sit on the counter for 40-45 mins. I used red potatoes, carrots, and onions & tossed them in olive oil, kosher salt, black pepper, and a sprinkle of dried thyme. Cooked for 60 minutes @ 375 with 15 minutes rest gave us the perfect medium rare. It was divine, tasted like a prime rib that has been roasting all day. It was so moist and tender--I will have to have this once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States