All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This turned out wonderfully. I am giving it only four stars because the instructions should state that the use of a digital thermometer is very important so that you don't over or undercook the meat. I used mine and took it out of the oven at 140F. I let it rest for about 20 minutes before cutting and it had risen to 150F, turning it to a perfect medium rare. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
PERFECT! I have made only disasters for roast beef before this. I blamed it on my grandmother's roasting pan, but clearly I just needed this recipe. I served it with Yorkshire Pudding YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Awesome! Made for the first time for Christmas dinner. Turned out perfect! I used Italian seasonings to on the beef and put stock on the bottom of pan. Also let the meat rest on counter for at least an hour. Took out at 135 degrees and it cooked until it reached 160. Big hit, everyone loved! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I really liked this receipe i added the onions on top of it and added some water while in the oven, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very good. I added 1/3 C soy sauce and 1/3 C worcestershire sauce and water and cooked it in the crock pot for 5 hours. Next time I will get it out in 4 hours. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
It was very good and very easy. I added a lot more spices and a jar of onion gravy. Covering it after it was taken out of the oven is really important. Don't skip this step :-). My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
it was okay. I probably wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is a good quick way to make this roast. And just a note. 20 min. per pound is for medium rare. If you like your meat well, it would be 25 min. per pound. The one thing I don't like about this cooking method is that it creates a hard, dry crust on the outside of the meat. I like braising eye round in a dutch oven or baking it at 300 degrees in a little liquid for 30 min. per pound, which creates a more 'falling off the bone' texture. Eye round has no fat, so there are no drippings to baste the roast with while cooking, so having some sort of liquid in the pan while baking creates a moister roast. This 'dry roasting' method is quick, but results are fair and the meat isn't as tender. We made this for French dip sandwiches. I did let the meat sit out at room temp. for 3 hrs. before I baked it to ensure more even cooking. Makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
awesome recipe, and so simple and easy! i made this as the first recipe i've ever tried with some mashed potatoes and gravy with sauteed mushrooms and it was absolutely to die for! thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parrsicle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was my first attempt at a roast beef dinner and it was simply fantastic! The only alteration I made was adding a can of beef broth to the roasting pan. The roast turned out so tender and it had a fantastic flavour. I'm not a successful gravy maker so I used the packets and added some of the drippings from the roast. Thank you for an extremely simple and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States