All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Still too raw in the middle. Should be 30 minutes a pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Synni Pepin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This is a beautiful recipe! The cut of meat IS the key! So easy and simple and it comes out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Reminded me of my childhood when big family dinners were more common, I was nervous but it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This recipe is wonderful and a classic way to cook a roast. For those naysayers, please use the correct cut of meat (eye roast) and your cooking thermometer judiciously to monitor it. If you follow the directions and DO NOT add water as many reviewers have done, you will have a fabulous meal. For a little more flavor, I double the spices and add thyme to the rub as it complements roast beef fabulously. Thank you RCP80 for your submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
this is the way our butcher suggests roasting eye of round. As a matter of fact, this is what he has in the deli for roast beef sandwiches -- no other roast beef, just his that is roasted in the store. to those that say you need water and slow cooking, it depends on the cut of the roast! Different roasts require different methods of cooking. if folks are not sure, check with a butcher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Excellent roast beef. Bought an Angus roast. Enjoyed it with mashed potatoes and slaw. Enjoyed it in sandwiches the next couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
My first time cooking a roast beef dinner. It was perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer R Wade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
An eye of round roast is one of the leanest roasts you can get. It is not a fatty pot roast and can not be cooked much past rare in my opinion. Then it will be dry. If you want well done beef then stick with a pot roast. This roast does not require liquid but you must keep an eye on the internal temp. I always pull mine at about 130 degrees as it will cook up to 140. But if you cook even 15 minutes too long, you will ruin it. Definitely invest in an instant read probe thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Libby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This is a good way to cook an eye roast. Suggestion: I read the debates on moist vs dry cooking. My husband taught me the best way to cook this meat using almost the same recipe except he used a hybrid of the moist vs dry. Put the meat on a rack and add water to the bottom of the pan but not touching the meat. Periodically check it, if the water has burn off add some more - do not add too much because it will water down gravy and you definitely do not want that because this makes great gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Recipe was simple and straightforward... I used a meat thermometer and echo recommendation to pull beef out at 120 degrees...... One note - the beef really lacked any special taste, pretty bland. It's a solid faithful recipe, maybe consider tasty sauce to complement it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States