All American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
That an awesome and easy to make pie. Well, I took a shortcut and used a frozen pie crust. But, it was so easy. I picked this recipe becasue I was out of brown sugar and did a search to see if there was such an apple pie using only white- and here it is! I did take one reviewer's advice and added 1 TB lemon juice and 2 TB cornstarch - then as advised, put it all in a saucepan to ensure the apples cook better. After about 20 on 'low' (and stirring frequently!), I poured it into my premade crust. Then, for the topping, I didn't have a pastry cutter, so I used a fork. And, I'm a sweet tooth, so I doubled the amounts for the crumb crust. I added cinnamon and a little sugar now and then as I was mashing with my fork. I loaded the pie with these crumbles. After about 40 min, I took it out (remember, I already cooked my apples earlier), and it was golden brown and crunchy on top and my crust was not overdone or dry since I didn't have to bake as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
This recipe is excellent! I made a few slight adjustments, however, that made the pie even better. Use just under the amounts shown for oil and salt for the crust. Add 1 TBS of lemon juice and 2 TBS cornstarch to the filling mixture and cook in a saucepan until tender, then put in the unbaked pie crust. Use 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup sugar, and a few dashes of cinnamon, along with the other ingredients, to make the topping. You can also add some rolled oats and chopped pecans to the topping mixture for added variety. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This was the best apple pie I've ever made, and I've been baking for years. I needed to bake it longer than the recipe called for, but as soon as it was goldening up, I took it out. It got rave reviews from everyone at dinner. I found that the recipe was good just as it was. (Some previous submitters had recommended cutting sugar or butter). If you're extremely health conscious, I guess you could, but it's absolutely delicious as is. Also, those complaining that it was doughy only had to bake it longer. If you tap lightly on the crumb topping, and it leaves an indent, then it still needs to bake some. An absolutely outstanding pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I served this for 4th of July and it was the hit of the party. My mother said it was the best apple pie she'd ever tasted - better than her grandmothers! I used small gala apples (6 were just enough) and sliced them pretty thin (about 3 cm. thick) - they were perfect for this pie. I took another reviewer's advice ("1 TB lemon juice and 2 TB cornstarch - then put it all in a saucepan to ensure the apples cook better. After about 20 on 'low' (and stirring frequently!)") and I added more flour and sugar to the crumbly topping which made it firmer, but just as buttery and delicious. The topping still wasn't "firm" when putting it on the pie (it "plops" on) but it bakes to perfection. I also added a few shakes of ground cloves to the apple mixture, as well as dashes of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves to the top of the crumble before baking and it gave it a nice aroma and look to the top crumble crust. The bottom crust is TO DIE FOR. Take the time to make the crust yourself - it totally makes the pie. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
Best apple pie I've ever eaten. I did, however, add more cinnamon and about 2 tablespoons of brown sugar. Also used a 9-inch store bought pie crust. 3 granny smith and 1 golden delicious apple chopped into small chunks were a plenty. For the topping, I pulsated the ingredients in a food processor. It came out almost like a sugar cookie dough. Then, rather than sprinkling it, I dropped gobs on top of the pie and pressed it all together with my fingers, forming a top "crust." I wrapped the edges with aluminum foil to prevent burning, and the end result was a gooey, caramel-like center with a crispy, flaky, sweet crust on top. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Great recipe! I'll admit I had my doubts about the crust but it turned out fine. Nice to be able to make a pie without getting flour all over. I found that the pie was done after 45 minutes in the oven. For those of you having trouble with the topping, keep in mind that the butter/margarine needs to be cold (out of the fridge, not at room temperature) in order to make crumbs. Good luck! Can't go wrong with this one. Thanks Amy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Excellent pie - sometimes there's nothing better than a really good apple for dessert especially if it's topped with vanilla ice cream! The crust on this was pretty good, but in the future I think I'd use "Grandma's Secret Pie Crust" from this site because the dough was a bit difficult to work with. After I got it into the pie plate, I chilled it for a bit. For the apples, I used Granny Smith and a ton of them! I used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/4 brown sugar, upped the cinnamon to 1 tsp., added a couple splashes of lemon juice, 2 tsp. of vanilla, and 2 Tbsp. of cornstarch. Tossed every thing with the thin sliced apples and placed it into the crust. For the topping I used half white and half brown sugar and added 1/4 cup of quick cooking oats. This definitely takes longer than 45 minutes to bake. For me it took over an hour and I had to keep checking it. So I guess it all depends on your oven. It's definitely worth the wait though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Fabulous! My chef husband was very impressed. I used Fugi apples, sliced very thinly, and also pre-cooked them with lemon juice, cornstarch, and the filling ingredients for about 10 minutes before spreading in crust. I also used a 10" pie pan, so I increased the crust and topping ingredients a bit. I added brown sugar, oats, and bit more flour to topping ingredients to get it more crumbly. Baked for about 43 minutes. Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
I don't know what more I can say about this EXCELLENT apple pie! We were getting last minute company and I needed a quick dessert and I enlisted my younger daughter to whip this up for me. I had granny smith's on hand, so we used those and added a little bit more sugar to offset the tart flavor of the apple. We cheated and used a packaged pie crust and added cinnamon to the topping. Some other reviewers suggested cutting back on the butter, but I felt the amount for the topping was perfect. Thanks so much Amy for a really great pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This was my first time baking an Apple Pie, this recipe is GREAT! Topping was not crumbly, but it tastes great. I will definetly stick with this recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States