All American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
so simple.... so good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curt Rowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe and the reviews. As for the crust I cut down the butter and sugar to around 1/3 of a cup, it still melted down, covering the entire pie and it was STILL too butterry and sugary. The botton crust was also way toooo oily as I've followed the recipe to a T! people beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This is such a hit and the crustless pie is so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This review is for the pie only. I used the Butter Flaky Crust recipe from this site. Very good. Thought this pie was better than most that I've had made with brown sugar. I seriously am rethinking that brown sugar isn't always where it's at for pies! I added two tbsp. of fresh lemon juice to the filling before I baked it, I'm glad I did otherwise it really would have been too sweet. When I make this again, I would cut back on the flour in the filling. I royally screwed up the topping but it was tasty so it really didn't matter. NOTE: I used granny smith's because that was all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Lovely pie. I just inhaled a piece just now. I don't like my desserts too sweet and rich, so this recipe is very forgiving if you want to make it to suit your taste. I drastically cut down the sugar and butter and I can't tell the difference. I ran out of milk, so I used rice milk for the crust. Very flaky! As for the filling, I used 7 small gala apples, only 1/3 cup packed brown sugar, 1 tbsp cornstarch, 3 Tbsp flour and only 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I also used only half the amount of topping and used brown sugar instead of white. I figure that if it wasn't sweet enough, I could always add ice cream and drizzle some maple syrup on top when serving. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Delicious! This is officially my new signature pie recipe! so, easy to make and the crunchy topping was a pleasant suprise.The only changes I made were as follows, extended the cook time by 8 minutes which results in the perfect golden brown.Also, I used a store bought pie crust which was very tasty and time saving! everything else i did as recipe calls, enojy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I really liked the pie and so did my family I enjoyed the buttery topping and the flaky crust my only complaints: it wasn't very pretty and it took a lot longer than 45 minutes to bake, probably more like 1 hour 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venessa L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Made this while my 2 small children ate breakfast it was simple and fast! Brought it for dessert at my Grandmothers house and everyone loved it! I did add a little cinnamon to the crust and vanilla extract to the filling. Will be my apple pie recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
It was delicious!!! I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is an excellent recipe! I added lemon juice to keep the apples from browning and I needed more flour to make the top crust work. Probably the best apple pie I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States