All American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was really good, and just what I was looking for. We had the leftovers for breakfast the next morning, and it was just as good the day after. I used a different crust, though, the butter flaky crust recipe as suggested by another user, which was perfect. I let the pie bake uncovered for the first 35 minutes, then covered with foil for the last 10 so the crust and topping wouldn't burn. This was wonderful and I'll be making it again when my family wants apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlenePlunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Excellent recipe. However, I found that the nutmeg was way too strong. Next time I will put just a sprinkle of nutmeg in or I might eliminate it altogether. I also found that adding the topping about 20 minutes into baking kept things from overflowing and burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Best apple pie recipe that I've tasted, restaurant or otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this with all organic ingredients. Everyone loves this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quen10

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
so simple.... so good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curt Rowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe and the reviews. As for the crust I cut down the butter and sugar to around 1/3 of a cup, it still melted down, covering the entire pie and it was STILL too butterry and sugary. The botton crust was also way toooo oily as I've followed the recipe to a T! people beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This is such a hit and the crustless pie is so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This review is for the pie only. I used the Butter Flaky Crust recipe from this site. Very good. Thought this pie was better than most that I've had made with brown sugar. I seriously am rethinking that brown sugar isn't always where it's at for pies! I added two tbsp. of fresh lemon juice to the filling before I baked it, I'm glad I did otherwise it really would have been too sweet. When I make this again, I would cut back on the flour in the filling. I royally screwed up the topping but it was tasty so it really didn't matter. NOTE: I used granny smith's because that was all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Lovely pie. I just inhaled a piece just now. I don't like my desserts too sweet and rich, so this recipe is very forgiving if you want to make it to suit your taste. I drastically cut down the sugar and butter and I can't tell the difference. I ran out of milk, so I used rice milk for the crust. Very flaky! As for the filling, I used 7 small gala apples, only 1/3 cup packed brown sugar, 1 tbsp cornstarch, 3 Tbsp flour and only 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I also used only half the amount of topping and used brown sugar instead of white. I figure that if it wasn't sweet enough, I could always add ice cream and drizzle some maple syrup on top when serving. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Delicious! This is officially my new signature pie recipe! so, easy to make and the crunchy topping was a pleasant suprise.The only changes I made were as follows, extended the cook time by 8 minutes which results in the perfect golden brown.Also, I used a store bought pie crust which was very tasty and time saving! everything else i did as recipe calls, enojy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States