All American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This did not work for me at all! The filling was thin and juicy and the topping was not crumbly. The crust was nothing special either. I'm not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Excellent pie - sometimes there's nothing better than a really good apple for dessert especially if it's topped with vanilla ice cream! The crust on this was pretty good, but in the future I think I'd use "Grandma's Secret Pie Crust" from this site because the dough was a bit difficult to work with. After I got it into the pie plate, I chilled it for a bit. For the apples, I used Granny Smith and a ton of them! I used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/4 brown sugar, upped the cinnamon to 1 tsp., added a couple splashes of lemon juice, 2 tsp. of vanilla, and 2 Tbsp. of cornstarch. Tossed every thing with the thin sliced apples and placed it into the crust. For the topping I used half white and half brown sugar and added 1/4 cup of quick cooking oats. This definitely takes longer than 45 minutes to bake. For me it took over an hour and I had to keep checking it. So I guess it all depends on your oven. It's definitely worth the wait though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
i made this for a dish to bring on the 4th of july and it was great!every one loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is AMAZING! I have made many an apple pie in my time, but this one takes the cake....umm pie!!! This is now my new go to apple pie recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was the best apple pie I have ever made. Super great flavor, just the right amount of spices. We will definately make this one again (and again, and again). My oven temp is correct and I did have to cook this about 10 to 15 minutes longer and increase my oven temp to get the top to brown nicely though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I too was skeptical on the crust, but It turned out great!! This was my first attempt at apple pie and It was a success! I added nutmeg and will probably add more cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
It's the first time I make an apple pie and it turned out so great. I added some orange zest and the juice of 1 orange in the apple filling mixture. it will look like too much liquid but I add a little more flour. I used Granny Smith and Fuji apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Imus, Cavite, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was really good, and just what I was looking for. We had the leftovers for breakfast the next morning, and it was just as good the day after. I used a different crust, though, the butter flaky crust recipe as suggested by another user, which was perfect. I let the pie bake uncovered for the first 35 minutes, then covered with foil for the last 10 so the crust and topping wouldn't burn. This was wonderful and I'll be making it again when my family wants apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlenePlunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Excellent recipe. However, I found that the nutmeg was way too strong. Next time I will put just a sprinkle of nutmeg in or I might eliminate it altogether. I also found that adding the topping about 20 minutes into baking kept things from overflowing and burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Best apple pie recipe that I've tasted, restaurant or otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States