All American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was a great recipe! Tasty and so easy to make. I took the lazy approach and used a frozen deep dish pie crust. Will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I have been baking this pie for years! I always get rave reviews; it's the best apple pie I've ever tasted. All I do differently is: pile on more apples, and a bit more of the cinnamon & nutmeg. I love this easy crust: I hate rolling out crust! Thank you for such a perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I am not so good with the pastry-like doughs and the pie making skills. Nope. Me, I'm a cookie/muffin girl. So I cheated and used a frozen 9" crust. But the rest of the recipe was perfect. The only change I made was using 1/2 cup brown sugar (instead of 3/4 white) on the apples + 1 tbsp cornstarch, because I was using sweet juicy Fujis and didn't want the pie too sicky-sweet or runny. My tween just said it was "totally awesome" (dude). Bonus: it was totally easy, even for somebody like me, who doesn't do pie. This is a keeper for us. I'd love to try this with pears, too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Absolutely the best!!!! I get rave reviews each time I make this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Marion, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Yum! I agree with others on cooking the apples for 20 minutes or so on the stove top before hand with all of the filling ingredients plus 1 tbsp lemon juice. The crust is not crumbly as written. Those who suggested adding oats, pecans, extra sugar and flour had the right idea, I will be doing that next time! It was delicious despite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a good, rich apple pie. I suggest dicing the apples instead of slicing - smaller pieces would let the apple cook better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is better than All American, it is the best. My husband begs me to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is the best apple pie ever!!! The filling can be used for pies and tarts. My family loves it. I use an extra apple or two for deep dish pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was delicious and the crust is SO easy. If you want to use a store bought crust for this one--don't--this crust recipe takes less than five minutes to mix and press into the pie pan--just be patient and press it until it's spread out evenly and up onto the edge of your pie pan. I did use granny smiths--leaving the sugar as written--b/c that's what I had! And I added a bit to the topping--which is GREAT as written-- but for personal preferences I added chopped pecans and a touch of cinnamon. I was skeptical of a crumb topping w/o brown sugar, but this recipe is good as is. Like any pie, I do recommend covering the crust edges w/ a pie shield or foil, taking it the protection off for the last few minutes of baking, if necessary. My apples weren't ready after 45 minutes, so, I covered the whole pie loosely with foil for another 10 minutes or so and the apple juices began to run down the side of the pie tin beautifully! :) Hands down, this is the best crumb top pie I've made. Now I have to be really motivated to bother making my double crust pie as it entails a rolling pin!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Turned out fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States