All American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Excellent as written. I have made tons of home made Apple Pies and this is my new favorite. The crust was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
My husband and I think this is the best tasting apple pie and it is easy to make. I have made a lot of pies but this taste the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Martins Ferry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Love this recipe! I made it exactly how the recipe said to and it turned out amazing!!! If you eat the pie the first night you make it the pie crust is not a firm but still delicious:) the next day the crust is more firm but the topping melts a little when you heat it up, I personally prefered the pie the night of, my husband prefered the pie the next day, amazing either way. Very easy to make and super yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Love this recipe quick, easy, and tastes delicious though I sometimes cheat and buy the crust it always comes out perfect. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I decided to use Granny Smiths, and I know they tend to be a little more sour than other varieties, but the ones I get are not too sour. The crust came out beautiful/not soggy at all (I didn't know what to expect not ever having to NOT prebake the crust).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I have made this pie 4 or 5 different times. For the filling I cut back the sugar to 1/4 cup and add an extra tablespoon of cinnamon. It's still a great taste if you follow recipe exactly, but VERY VERY sweet. I have used both gala and Fuji apples, both work great if you slice them very thin. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is the best apple pie I have ever made. It was so good that no one even touched the pumpkin pie last night. I used slightly more apples, and mounded them up. They cooked down nicely. i pressed the topping to all sides to hold it on, and cooked it for probably an extra 20 minutes to get the top to start to brown. Overall BEST Apple Pie EVER!!! Easy and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
My 11 year old requested apple pie for Thanksgiving this year. This was my first attempt. I will never buy apple pie ever again. I followed the suggestion from other reviewers and cooked the apples for about 15 minutes on medium heat with 2 tablespoons of cornstarch and 1 tablespoon of lemon juice. I also added about 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves and 1/2 teaspoon more of cinnamon to the filling. For the topping I used 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 1/4 cup of quick cooking rolled oats and a 1/4 teaspoon each of cloves, cinnamon and nutmeg in addition to the other topping ingredients. Ensure that the butter is cold. I used salted butter. I put all the topping ingredients in the food processor and pulsed until it resembled fine crumbs then spread it all on top of the filling. It may look like a lot of topping but just pile it on anyway. I baked for exactly 45 minutes. It was amazing. Between the three of us, the entire pie was gone by 9 pm :-)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This recipe worked out great with a gluten free pie crust and oat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
REALLY good. I liked that the crust was made with oil and not shortening. The apple filling was simple yet delicious and the pie tasted even better with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Just to note I did'nt try the crumb topping. I wanted extra pie crust so I made another batch of pie dough to roll out for the top. But I'm sure the original topping is delicious as well. Thank you for this one :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States