All American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Brought this to Christmas last year... it was gone in seconds with requests to bring it again this year. The key to a good apple pie is used older apples..not fresh juicy ones...Learned that lesson the hard way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was my first time ever baking an apple pie. This recipe was very easy and came out delicious! I had a problem with the crumbly topping not being so crumbly, the butter in it made it spread and melt a little, although it didn't affect how good it tasted! Perhaps I should use unsalted butter next time, my mother suggested that that would probably help fix that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My neighbor brought over a bushel of apples from his backyard tree. After two hours peeling and slicing I found this recipe. Followed others suggestions. Used cornstarch and lemon in the filling mix and cooked on low for about 20 minutes. Used half cup brown sugar for the topping. Refrigerator cold butter is a must to get the pea sized crumbles you want. Placed under broiler for about 5 minutes to crisp up the crumbles slightly more. This pie is awesome. Next time I'll make my own pie crust following the recipe. I cheated this time and used store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike in Glenn Dale MD

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SHEREEB
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
yummy....cooked about 10 min longer thats all though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEREEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My family LOVED this recipe. I sprinkled some cinnamon sugar on top before putting it in the oven to give it a bit of a sweeter taste but I'm sure it would be amazing without as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. My family loved it I had to make three for a family get together in 10 min they were gone I did change a few things I follwed some of the others and cooked the apples and I also added 1/4 tsp of vanilla to the apples and 1 tsp of vanilla to the crust and to the topping mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilannie31

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Excellent apple pie! For the filling instead of using all white sugar, I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and a 1/4 cup white sugar. The topping I smashed it all over the top of the apples like a crust. Definitely a kkeeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffB25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This pie was excellent and very easy to make! I did a test run of this pie on my family before I make it for Thanksgiving, and it was a hit!!! I did make a few modifications per the other reviews. I did a quick cook of the Cortland/Gala Apples for 10 minutes adding 1-2 T lemon juice and the 2 T of cornstarch. That worked very well. Also increased the sugar and flour by 4 T each for the pie shell and I increased the oil and milk slightly. Overall the crust was very good and quick to make. I did add 4 T brown sugar to the topping as well as sprinkled toppping w/ ground cloves, cinnamon and nutmeg. This pie was so yummy.....I will make it again for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was the best apple pie I have ever tried. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John McGallian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States