All American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
i used a store bought graham cracker crust, which was prob the best part about this pie. found everything else was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I also cheated and used a store bought pie crust. Everything else I followed the recipe but added a couple tablespoons of rum to the apples....it was quick and easy will make again for sure. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This recipe is a keeper! Our family loved this recipe, it is simple and delicous my neighbors thought it was a hit, and thnak you for all the tips and thnaks amy for the recipe! I will treasure this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wanamingo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rush City, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This pie is delicious. I've made it twice now and everyone that has tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Great pie! I didn't use the crust but the pie was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is the first apple pie I've made from scratch. Because my oven cooks hot (I have a small countertop oven - not a toaster oven - and it's hard to control the temperature, as it just has a "pie" setting), I precooked the filling on the stovetop to ensure it would be fully cooked without risking burning the crust. I used to make pie crusts for a friend's business many years ago, and the consistency of the dough seemed strange to me, too oily. I couldn't crimp the edges. Once cooked, it seemed all right, but I think I will make the dough from a different recipe from now on. The crumbles also didn't "crumble" - I ended up with a large mass that I had to tear into little pieces to cover the pie, which melted together and got crunchy as it cooked. Perhaps it would have worked better with less butter. The end product was very delicious, the filling came out perfect. I just think the dough and crumbles need some tweaking. I do think you could cut out some butter/oil and sugar and still have a delicious pie. Fuji apples are very sweet on their own. I only used 5 apples, and they barely fit in the pie, 6 would have been too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Great pie. It was easy to make. I used chilled butter in my crust and cream where the recipe called for milk. I wish I would have read the review saying to add rolled oats and pecans to the topping. I imagine that would be quite tasty. My husband is anxious for me to make this apple pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Little River, Kansas, USA
Living In: Comstock, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Loved It
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Easy apple pie recipe! I didn't use Fuji apples - instead used the cheap "tote bag" apples on sale at the store, and it was still great. My crumb top didn't really "crumb" - it more baked into a cakey topping - but that might have been me. all in all, would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTI125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was an awesome pie but too sweet for us. I used Cortland apples and substituted the white sugar for brown. I also precooked the apples based on Any Mariez's suggestion. I will continue to make my pie this way, having the apples caramelize in the sugar is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacebase

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States