All American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was an awesome pie but too sweet for us. I used Cortland apples and substituted the white sugar for brown. I also precooked the apples based on Any Mariez's suggestion. I will continue to make my pie this way, having the apples caramelize in the sugar is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacebase

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
The proportions for the topping are waaaay off! Too much butter. Also, the crust completely turned to mush. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kxo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I made this pie for the first time at Thanksgiving and my family LOVED IT! I'm a new baker and still weary of making dough from scratch so I purchased a Philsbury pie crust (comes with 2 to a box) and used one as the crust and the second as the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Easy and delicious!!!!! I used brown sugar instead of white on the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
relatively easy and so, so good! I didn't use quite as many apples as the one I bought were pretty big. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skaparker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Thanks for the excellent and easy recipe. Me and my husband enjoyed it. I will definitely keep it in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
Living In: Hebron, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I didn't find this recipe good at all, and neither did my family. I've cooked for a living in the past and just wanted to try a new recipe. Not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Terrific recipe. It got raves at Thanksgiving, even when I accidentally oversalted the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This is by far the best apple pie recipe I have ever made. I used a premade crust to save time and it takes less than 15 minutes to put together - even after peeling and slicing the apples. I use a mandoline or V-slicer to slice the apples really thin - this ensures that the apples are cooked all the way through. I don't change the recipe in any other way except to use whatever apples I have on hand. Thank you Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was okay, pretty good. I think it needed to be cooked for longer b/c the apples were still kind of firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States