All American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This was delicious except I felt like the crust was bland and it may be that I did something wrong but it wasnt as crispy/firm as I wanted. I also over worked the crumblings on top but it still cam out great. Next time I wont over work the top of the crust and may try a different crust recipe for the bottom. I also added a little more brown sugar to everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
not good at all, soupy and too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I have never done a review so I thought I would start with this one. I made this pie becasue I was looking for a pie that my food allergic son could have as well. I have made it both ways and love it both. I subsitute anything dairy for soy, and when baked you can not tell the difference. Great recipe, it is the only apple pie I bake now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This did not work for me at all! The filling was thin and juicy and the topping was not crumbly. The crust was nothing special either. I'm not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Excellent pie - sometimes there's nothing better than a really good apple for dessert especially if it's topped with vanilla ice cream! The crust on this was pretty good, but in the future I think I'd use "Grandma's Secret Pie Crust" from this site because the dough was a bit difficult to work with. After I got it into the pie plate, I chilled it for a bit. For the apples, I used Granny Smith and a ton of them! I used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/4 brown sugar, upped the cinnamon to 1 tsp., added a couple splashes of lemon juice, 2 tsp. of vanilla, and 2 Tbsp. of cornstarch. Tossed every thing with the thin sliced apples and placed it into the crust. For the topping I used half white and half brown sugar and added 1/4 cup of quick cooking oats. This definitely takes longer than 45 minutes to bake. For me it took over an hour and I had to keep checking it. So I guess it all depends on your oven. It's definitely worth the wait though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
i made this for a dish to bring on the 4th of july and it was great!every one loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is AMAZING! I have made many an apple pie in my time, but this one takes the cake....umm pie!!! This is now my new go to apple pie recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was the best apple pie I have ever made. Super great flavor, just the right amount of spices. We will definately make this one again (and again, and again). My oven temp is correct and I did have to cook this about 10 to 15 minutes longer and increase my oven temp to get the top to brown nicely though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I too was skeptical on the crust, but It turned out great!! This was my first attempt at apple pie and It was a success! I added nutmeg and will probably add more cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
It's the first time I make an apple pie and it turned out so great. I added some orange zest and the juice of 1 orange in the apple filling mixture. it will look like too much liquid but I add a little more flour. I used Granny Smith and Fuji apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Imus, Cavite, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States