All American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
REALLY good. I liked that the crust was made with oil and not shortening. The apple filling was simple yet delicious and the pie tasted even better with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Just to note I did'nt try the crumb topping. I wanted extra pie crust so I made another batch of pie dough to roll out for the top. But I'm sure the original topping is delicious as well. Thank you for this one :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
The best apple pie/crumble ever...super easy to make and simply amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Best recipe ever!!!Don't cheat and use store bought crust. This crust is soooo easy and makes the pie so tasty. I would not use the cookie sheet for a glass pan as mine did not brown until I took it off the sheet. It's a keeper for me and my apples were from my own tree :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Loved this apple pie recipe, one of the best apple pies I've ever had. I used 4 granny smith and 3 braeburn apples. After combining the apple slices, sugar (I used 1/2 cup white and 1/4 cup brown sugar), spices and flour I put in large sauce pan and cooked on stove top for about 20 minutes. The braeburns break down somewhat while the granny smiths remain fairly firm, some of the juice cooks away and the rest combines to make a thick and delicious sauce that doesn't make the bottom crust soggy. I then baked as recommended. The crumb topping was good, but the texture was slightly off for my taste. I think next time I'm going to make it with 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar to see if that's what I was missing. I also used a full tablespoon of cinnamon in the filling and 1 tsp in the topping because we love cinnamon. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garrett, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Joe, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
When I read the ingredients for the crust, I was a bit leery, but after eating the pie, we found we loved it. I did have to cook it longer then suggested, but in the end it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Pretty good apple pie! I used my own crust recipe, and I used more cinnamon than what was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I have been making this recipe for more than 10 years...always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by meg
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I have made this apple pie twice now, and each time I have gotten spectacular feedback. I made the following modifications: I added some water into the crust batter because I wanted to roll it out and it just wasn't happening. Even after adding the water it was very difficult so I ended up just flattening out small pieces and sticking them together in the pan -- it worked great and I actually recommend it as it was super easy and effective. The first time I made this pie I used some apples from my backyard and it was amazing -- just the right combination of sweet and tart. The second time, I bought some pink lady apples and I found that while the pie was still delicious, I would have preferred to use a sweeter variety. In addition, I added lemon juice to the apples and a tablespoon of brown sugar and less of white sugar. The first time I made this pie, I over mixed the crust and ended up with a consistency that was not very good for crumbling, so just like the crust, I pieced together the topping on top of the apples. I did this the second time also because I loved the way it looked! Anyway, this is a fantastic recipe and it will definitely be my go-to from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I was very wary of the top crust, it was crumbly when I put it on but soon in the oven it formed one big almost cake-like crust. Which tasted good but I think it overwhelmed the apples a little. I was looking for more of a crumble topping. Also thought the filling was too spicy - I would definitely omit the nutmeg if I made this again. The only reason I would make this again is because I did get a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crystolite
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I made this pie today while stranded at home during Hurricane Sandy, LOL. Followed it almost exactly with a few alterations: I added a little bottled lemon juice to the apples and tossed as I cut them up into chunks to keep them from browning (about 1/2 teaspoon for each apple); I added about 1/8 cup more of white sugar to the apples to account for the tartness of the lemon juice; Added about 2 tablespoons of brown sugar as well as a dash of cinnamon & nutmeg to the topping. I used 6 large apples: I had Rome, Gala, and maybe a Courtland in the frig. I don't think the type of apple matters as long as you don't have all mushy apples. Those 6 large apples make a lot when cut up so the pie was heaping. I followed other tips and covered the pie with a loose foil tent after 45-50 mins of cooking. Total cook time was about 1 hr, 15 mins. depending on how brown you like it. CLEANUP TIP! Line the cookie sheet with foil before putting the pie on top b/c it will boil over just a little bit. I don't know why people had problems with gooey pies. Mine had a perfectly golden crunchy top and the shortbready bottom crust was perfect! Apples were cooked through too. No need to cook on stove first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States