Alissa's Vegetarian Lentil Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
It was so bland it was only barely edible with a gallon of ketchup. I think this could possibly be salvageable if there were a boatload of seasonings. I like the mushroom nut loaf vegetarian option far better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usnwife20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Not a bad recipe! I made a few adjustment: used the whole egg, rather than the yolk, added more spices [oregano, basil, rosemary, garlic powder], replaced the wheat germ with ground flax and brown rice with white, and left out the pepper (due to what was in my kitchen), and it turned out good. I like the texture - something I miss as a vegetarian sometimes! It was hearty and had room for flexibility. And it tasted really good with this amazing BBQ sauce I have. Definitely recommend trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potamun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I enjoyed this recipe but I agree with others that it needs a sauce of some kind. I made a simple sauce of tomato, basil, red onion and garlic. Everyone enjoyed it. it held together OK but I agree with those who said that it needed an extra 20 minutes uncovered after the suggeted 45 minutes covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
We liked the taste of the meatloaf, but it was alittle dry. Maybe because I did have to cook it alot longer than the 45 minutes for it to solidify? I will make this again and maybe add some kind of sauce over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This was easy and turned out very nicely exactly as written. I took one reviewers advice and made muffins which went over well with the kids. The thyme was the predominant flavor, which we liked, But I'll probably try a different spice angle next time. It made enough for appx 18 muffins, which I cooked as suggested, with foil on top for the first 35 minutes then removed fir the last 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I am not a vegetarian but want to try and eat healthy. This loaf recipe was prepared exactly as written with the exception of the substitution of green peppers for red (this is what I had on hand). It was very delicious but the next time I may put a catchup, brown sugar, mustard topping on it. Thank you for this recipe. It will get into my regular meal rotation from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Loved it will make it again. Made a deviled sauce to pour over top 3 tbsp brown sugar, 1/4 cup ketchup, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 1 tsp dried mustard. It was amazing. Freezes well. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Needs more onion and definately ketchup on top. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
In the oven right now! Before even trying it, I have to say that I ended up with enough mixture for at least 2 loaves, maybe more. I'll add to this after I've tasted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I had high hopes for this but honestly neither my husband nor I liked it. I didn't like the texture and it tasted very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States