Alissa's Vegetarian Lentil Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
my meat-a-tarian husband LOVED this! but i had to cook it twice as long for it to 'set'. next time i plan to add a little tomato paste to the top, cover with foil, and cook appx 2 hours. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
My husband and I "mmmm'd" our way through each bite. YUM! I made a few changes because of what I had on hand: oat flour instead of flax meal, wheat bran instead of germ. I also used veg. broth when cooking lentils and added 1 Tbsp. vegetarian Worcestershire to the lentils while they were in the food processor. Put mix of tomato paste and ketchup on top, covered with foil and baked for 45 mins, uncovered for 10 and it was great! (Not too dry, not too mushy.) This was my first time making vegetarian meatloaf and it was the best my husband and I have ever had. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I cooked this recipe according to the directions and it came out fine, not too mushy or dry. I followed suggestions from the previous reviewers and topped it with tomato paste and ketchup. This recipe was pretty good, but I didn't like the thyme. The thyme flavour really overwhelmed the whole recipe. I think this one might be better if it went in a more Indian direction, using cumin and coriander instead of the thyme. I'll definitely alter the spices if I make it again, but I did like the lentil/flax/wheat germ/veggie aspects of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This was okay, definitely tasts healthy. Also, this dish is VERY high in fiber- watch out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This turned out really great. I took other reviewers' advice and put some tomato paste on top . I also added worsteshire sauce and dijon mustard to the lentils. We don't like spicy food so instead of thyme and cayenne pepper I added Cavender's Greek seasoning (which is what I used to put on grilled meat for my husband). He liked it a lot, but does not want to call it meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Excellent "meatloaf!" I took some of the below suggestions and put a mixture of tomato paste/ketchup on top of the loaf before I put it in the oven. Then I baked it, covered in foil, for 45 minutes. After that, I uncovered it and baked it for another 20 minutes. Next time I think I will add a little more onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Flavor was good. I like how healthy this recipe is. Mine came out a bit mushy but I will try it again. I might also try making it into burgers in place of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Bevier French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
OUTSTANDING!! we loved this so much, it's destined to be one of our staple meals. I got all wacky with Indian spices. I commandeered the leftovers for lunch the next day. Looove it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Cotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I give this recipe a three because it is only edible once it is drizzled with a bit of steak sauce or ketchup. Definitely looks like meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
i thought that this dish was very creative and tasty. Im not even a vegetarian, i just wanted to try a healthy alternative to meat, and im definitely keeping this recipe in my book! i do have one "complaint", im no chef by any means, however i thought it was a bit dry and im unsure what to do next time i make it so that its not dry....any suggestions someone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States