Alissa's Vegetarian Lentil Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This did not turn out at all like a meatloaf for me. I did not expect it to be exactly like meatloaf, but my family hated it. It was time consuming to make. I cooked it longer than stated and it never "solidified" enough to cut into slices. It was more like a pureed texture and reminded me of meat for babies. I will not be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I hate to do this but we really disliked this lentil loaf. We are a family of six vegetarians and usually the kids are hit or miss but my husband and I are pretty flexible but not one single person liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
To make this recipe vegan I used Ener-G egg replacer instead of egg whites. It worked well except it took 1 &1/2 hour to bake. Welll worth it! Not only was it delicious last night fresh from the oven but I also ate it as a cold sandwich for lunch today. Loved it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This was great! I added salsa to the top before baking which worked out really well. Baked for an hour to set properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandi
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This is the first time I've made a veggie loaf-it's ok. It is somewhat bland though. I made a peanut gravy to go over it which helped some. I think it just needs more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very tasty! I am not a veg., but i don't eat meat that often because there are so many more healthy alternatives that taste delicious...like this recipe! Definitely cover with foil while cooking, I also cooked mine about 1.5 hours but I think I released too much water in the veggies when i was supposed to finely chop them, mine were more pureed. I also went with the suggestion to use indian spices instead of thyme and i loved it! I used curry, cumin, and indian pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spearit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I LOVED this recipe. My family and I are very very new vegetarians and my husband is pretty meat and potatoes. He loves this recipe as well. In fact, I used the same idea to make meatballs for spaghetti and those turned out fantastic as well. I was super surprised by how yummy and "meat-like" the texture was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I made some alterations. For the person that asked about dryness, you can add 1 tin of light coconut milk. Roland is the brand that I buy in the supermarket. I sprouted the lentils for2 days in advance. I put them in a glass bowl, cover them with water and I left them in a cupboard, a warm place and they sprouted. They become more protein than and they digest better. I crushed them into puree raw, with out cooking. I did not want to lose the nutrients. I also added mushrooms, celery, and broth. I did not use the flaxseeds. I followed a suggestion and I used barley flour and wheat bran instead. I also added 1/4 cup of cheddar cheese, and 1/2 cup of dried sun tomatoes, and the egg whites. I also added 1/4 of chopped jalapenos pepper, sea salt and ground black pepper. It was delicious. Thanks for sharing your recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Oh my gosh - this was amazing! I was a bit nervous when I went to the commissary & bought all these ingredients that I've never used (wheat germ & flax seed) just hoping it wasn't a disaster. It turned out GREAT! The preparation seemed to take forever - but I knew that going in. The only thing I changed was adding ketchup to the top before baking it. Mine was still really mushy after the 45 minutes, another 10 minutes later it was ok..but I would have left it in a few more minutes if I had the time. Overall, it was great & we will definitely make this again. My meat eating husband even said he'd eat it again. thank you for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I modified the recipe because I didn't have some of the veggies on hand and substituted mushrooms. Next time I make this I will season the ingredients as I go, as mine turned out on the bland side. The katchup/tomato on top was great. "The chef's Miracle Blend" would be great in this, or maybe soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States