Alissa's Vegetarian Lentil Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
i have to say that i was so excited for thiis.i actually planned my whole week around it. ( I work split shifts and have a baby) I made it according to directions. And I started early just in case I was included in the worst case scenario after reading. I cooked that dang thing for over 2 hours and its consistency never changed from mushy. so I used a spoon and globbed it onto a cookie sheet and baked it for another 30 minutes. I ended up having to go back to work with no dinner. After 3 hours of cooking my poor family gave it a try. And did not care for it. Not the flavor. The mushy "refried bean" texture. i am definately bummed. i am very jealous of the people who got this to work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
too mushy and alittle bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KINDWOMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Love this recipe! I used a mix of BBQ sauce and tomato paste for the "glaze" coating. Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Loved the texture of this. i pretty much doubled the recipe since i sprouted a bag of lentils for a couple days and had to alter a few things. - i used two whole eggs, -bulgar instead of wheat germ, -ground flax seed meal, -brown rice with red kidney beans i had made a couple days before for dinner and -panko bread crumbs. As i do not have a food processor i used my blender and added two tomatoes to help mash up my lentils. i also added the bulgar to the blender too. Once i had everything mixed together i used a mini loaf pan to bake them for 30 minutes. I did not have thyme so i used italian season and more oregano. On my next attempt i might up the tomato sauce and add some chili seasoning to it and something to kick up the flavor a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I made this once before and it ended up too moist and fell apart, but given all the positive reviews, I figured I messed up somewhere. I decided to try it again, and this time it came out perfectly. It's very easy to make and tastes great if you add enough salt. I also added a lot of red pepper flakes because I wanted it spicy. Came out great, perfectly moist. I also poured tomato sauce on top of the loaf after 20 mins of bake time. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for a very nutritious, filling recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Alissa should go back to cooking school. A can of tomato sauce with 1 1/2 cups of lentils? All you will get out of that is a sour tasting mush. Also you should leave out the red pepper, and maybe the carrots too. Otherwise its not a loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is a nice vegetarian option. I made a few small changes: 1) I added ketchup on top near the end of the baking 2) I used a different type of lentil. 3) I baked mine in small muffin tins instead of a loaf pan. It is different than the 'meat' version which my kids found weird, but my husband and I prefered. Serving this with a side of mashed potatoes and creamed corn is extra yummy. Thanks for this good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper-Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
so i did the whole bag of lentels, two carrots (about half a lb) a whole green bell pepper, whole med/large red onion, and coupple hand fulls flax seed and zatarans jyumblya mix (we just happened to have on hand) rather than great the carrots i rough chopped everything then threw it in the processor and plused in my lentils. while my rice was cooking. once everything is mixed i foled in the rice to avoid turning it to mush then used my icecream scoop to do 'muffins' of it baked them and they rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aura_bryt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Grayland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I loved the idea of this recipe, but it didn't work at all. I was so disappointed. I don't know what I did differently than those who were successful with it, and I'm a little bit jealous. :) I've had lentil meatloaf before and I was excited to find this recipe. I followed it as is, and after 2 hours in the oven it wasn't even set; the consistency was the same as when I first put it in the oven, it wasn't even edible. I don't plan on trying this recipe again, and will continue looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The flavor was great, though I would recommend cooking it longer to get a more appetizing/less mushy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States