Alison's Rainier Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Congratulations for being a cancer survivor ~ & getting to live near Mt. Rainier! I love this recipe. It is great as is or can be changed so many ways; nuts, fruits, grains. I used pistachios, craisins, dry cherries, pecans, ground flax seed & added 2 cups rice krispies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Delish! I was looking for a recipe w/o eggs and butter, that uses honey instead of corn syrup and this was it! Perfect! This is my go to recipe for granola bars, will be easy to vary too! Thanks for posting and congrats on your cancer survivorship and climbing mt. Rainier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
These turned out great and were really easy to make! The only substitution I made was using agave nectar instead of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
These were great. I needed gluten free, so I used gluten free quick cooking oats, puffed millet (for extra volume), but didn't have any of the seeds, wheat germ or nuts, so I didn't use any. I put extra dried fruit in (I used mango, apple, prunes & raisins). They were delicious! I'm sorry, I didn't mean to completely change or gut the recipe, but wanted a healthier, gluten free recipe. I will definitely use this again. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
These were some of the best granola bars I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This was absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra
Home Town: Glyndon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Boy, was I ever excited to make these! I made them, but without the wheat germ and sesame seeds, replacing them with flax seeds. I did not use walnuts either -- I used dried coconut instead. I should have known they would be reeeeeeally nutty -- the chunky peanut butter was a little overwhelming. My taste buds think that they are too greasy and salty, but my husband really likes them! Also, they are a bit too crumbly. I wanted more uniformed bars -- like the over-processed gross ones in the grocery stores. For my first time making granola bars though, I am impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I so wanted these to work out for me. They seemed uncooked and then overcooked within a matter of a couple of minutes. I made 1/2 recipe and put it in an 8x8 pan, so I may have been partially to blaim. I did the mixed dried fruit suggested, apricot and prunes, and then added some cherry juice sweetened cranberries. They ended up just too hard to eat. I thought, I could salvage them into granola with milk. However, they never softened up. To top, the taste was like over-cooked peanuts or peanut butter and hard fruit. I wish I didn't waste all of those ingredients. My only suggestion is to keep a good eye on these, especially when they are coming close to being done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
These were Great!!! easy to make and so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
These were awesome! I also added Reese's peanut butter chips since my boys like lots of peanut butter. They said "Mom, don't ever buy the bars at the store again. These are awesome!" They are more filling and taste so much better than the store bought ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States