Alison's Gluten-Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Wow. I never take time to rate recipes, but this one is worth it! After trying several gluten-free bread recipes that were too dense, crumbly, etc., this one finally achieved what I was looking for- light and fluffy. I did tweak the recipe, used a KitchenAid to mix for 4 minutes, let it rise 45+ min in the bowl, scraped it into greased loaf pan and let rise another hour- DID NOT kneed down after first rising. Here's my tweeks: used olive oil, added the yeast to the warm milk and let sit 15 minutes until bubbly, used 1/4 cup arrowroot + 1/4 cup tapioca starch. Baked at 350 for about 45 minutes. Oh, and brushed the top with egg whites and sprinkled sesame and poppy seeds on- looked fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I've tried this recipe and it turned out great, except I put pumpkin and flaxseeds in the dough. About 1/3 cup each. I like a hardy bread and this reminds me of the bread I used to eat in germany. Also, next time i will try using canned chickpeas in the blender, rather than the chickpea flour. It seems the chickpea flour gives the bread a very 'green' flavor as if they weren't ripe yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Fantastic bread! I'm just starting out going gluten free for feeling better purposes and found this recipe to be really simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Ok, those of us who are living gluten free know that a good bread is so hard to find. I really like this bread. It has a wonderfully springy texture that for once doesn't crumble or taste like I am eating a piece of rice shaped like bread. It does have a lot of ingredients, but it is worth the time to get them. I used my breadman bread maker and it worked like a charm. Go ahead, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I'm thrilled to be able to write a positive review on any gluten free bread, and this one deserves high praise. I've tried many recipes and none measure up to the delicious whole wheat bread I've been making for over 40 years. This had a nice texture, not at all crumbly or dry. It was a nice, regular bread! I had already spent a lot of money on various gluten free flours and had ground my own brown rice flour in my wheat mill, but I didn't have millet or garbanzo bean flour, so I used amaranth and sorghum. I have millet and garbanzo beans now so will grind them in my mill for the next time. I don't have a bread machine, so I mixed it with my hand mixer. It was the thickness of brownie batter. I lined my bread pan with parchment paper with enough on the sides to lift out the loaf. I turned the oven to 170 while it was mixing, then turned it off and set the bread pan in the oven for about 30 minutes. I let it rise level with the top of the pan. I then turned the oven to 350 and baked for 40 minutes. I turned the oven off, opened the door and let the bread cool down in the oven for about 10 minutes (hoping to avoid the bread collapsing). I should mention that I had too much dough for my bread pan so made 3 muffins which got a little dry because I forgot to take them out early. I'll probably still experiment with a few other recipes but only for the experiment--I'm perfectly happy with this bread and I think now I can handle going gluten free. Thank you, Alison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Really good, no comparison to what's sold in stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Healthy with more protein and fiber than other recipes, delicious, and the texture is reasonably moist and soft compared to many other gluten-free breads we have tried baking. I also like that it was pretty easy to dump into the bread machine. I used blue agave nectar in place of honey because it's easier to work with. I used 1/4 cup, and it was perfect. Dumped all wet ingredients in the bread machine, followed by the dry ingredients combined separately before adding to the machine. Easy and it came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Korpak Bechtel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I am new to a gluten-free diet. I tried this bread but found it too rubbery with a faint unpleasant aftertaste. Other people who do gluten-free baking have told me that the aftertaste is to be expected. But I wondered about the tablespoon of xanthan gum - if it was supposed to be a teaspoon? No other reviewers remarked on it, so I guess it is just my personal taste that it seemed too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We have been making this weekly for a while now. We let it cool in the bread machine for 10 minutes. After pulling it out and letting it cool completely, we slice it for sandwiches. I make two batches of the flour blend at a time and put on in the freezer for a quicker assembly. Thanks Allison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I'm giving this 5 stars, even though I didn't follow it exactly. I figure I followed it closely enough to warrant the rating. I did not make this as a totally gluten-free bread, because I'm just gluten-sensitive and can handle small amounts of gluten, so I made it as a low-gluten recipe. I substituted the millet and bean flour (can't find either of those in my area) with a half cup of wheat flour. I used brown and white rice flour for the rest of it. Also, I used buttermilk in place of skim milk. That was probably a mistake, only because it left a slightly sour taste to it. The texture is wonderful for a rice flour bread, and it rose beautifully. I did not use the bread machine, but my mixer. I mixed the wet ingredients together (proofing the yeast in the milk and honey), and then added the flours, and kneaded together (I did have to use slightly more rice flour while kneading). Then placed it into a greased loaf pan and stuck into a warmed oven. It rose about an hour, baked at 350 for 45 minutes. Seems like this is a flexible recipe that can yield good results with a variety of flours. I haven't had wheat in months and feel great, but I have missed bread. This will do nicely. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States