Alison's Gluten Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I was able to make this without a bread machine by mixing wet and dry ingredients separately, then folding the dry into the wet, and baking at 350 until browned. This is a good basic recipe that I look forward to playing with more. One easy addition was swirling raisins, cinnamon and a bit of brown sugar into it. I'll probably try a garlic and olive addition next if it's Celiac approved. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
498 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by B Spradley
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I have been trying to find a good gluten free bread for my husband and this is by far the best. Both for texture (it actually rose and had air pockets) and for taste, it is similar to wheat bread. One technical note, if you try to make it with a bread machine like I did, make sure to check your machine because mine had trouble mixing the dough; it was so dense. I had to keep scraping the edges and helping it along. As for the recipe, I didn't have millet flour so I just added some sweet sorghum flour and more rice flour (only had brown). I also added threw in some flax seed after reading other reviewer. I used rice milk as a substitute for the skim milk. I followed the advice to mix the rice flour with the milk before adding it to the mixture and I think that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Spradley
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
this makes great pizza bread. We spread it in a jelly roll pan, brush with a little olive oil or sometimes with a light coating of pizza sauce and then bake/freeze. My son can have pizza any time now! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This is the 1st gluten free recipe that has worked. I have a Cuisinart Convection Bread Machine; it is hard finding gluten free recipes that don't take alot of different flours. This recipe I adjusted the flour as follows: I only had Red Mill GF All Purpose Baking Flour and brown rice flour. I used 1 3/4 C. GF All Purpose Baking Flour and 1 1/2 C. brown rice flour. The bread came out beautifully. My husband and I aren't GF intolerant, only my daughter, and we really enjoyed the bread too. Thank you, Rene49
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roaring Spring, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This bread was delicious with character and I will make it again. In response to harlequin1031's comment: APPLE CIDER is made strictly from APPLES. APPLE CIDER VINEGAR is made strictly from APPLES. It is one of the few vinegars that are considered safe for Celiacs. When in doubt about an ingredient, always do your research, it will broaden the horizons of what you previously thought you could not have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quispamsis, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I made it exactly as written. This tastes nice, but even letting it rise for almost 2 hours, it still didn't rise much and is pretty solid. I've had better luck with gf breads that are more bean flour based.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
thanks so much. lots of ingredients but well worth it. great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
GREAT!!!!!!!!!! THANX FOR PUTTING THIS OUT WE HAVE A TWO YEAR OLD WHO CAN'T HAVE GLUTIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KonaRose
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Ok, I changed it so much, it may not be the same recipe anymore! Took out the vinegar, changed the honey to Karo syrup, delete the millet flour and double the garbanzo bean flour. Tricks: proof the yeast in some of the warm milk and a tsp of sugar - set aside and add about 20 minutes after the flours have been moistened with the warm milk. The best trick: do NOT use a bread machine; otherwise, I always ended up with a white, solid brick, then my husband said he could sell at Home Depot in the building materials dept. I used a potato masher. Spray 2 loaf pans, sprinkle with corn meal before pouring half the dough into each pan. Smooth over the tops with a wet spoon, then paint on an egg wash, then brush them with a little Karo syrup. Wow - light, spongey, tender bread with a crispy brown crust. I did add a photo to the recipe page, the browned loaves with butter spread over the slice I am holding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Finally a bread my wheat allergic daughter can eat, and that does not resemble cardboard! I've made it several times now and I'm contemplating making a double batch in the breadmaker, only because it's such a dense loaf, I'm baking every other day it seems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States