Alison's Gluten Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This really is a very good gf bread recipe. I don't know if the magic is in the garbanzo bean flour or not. I didn't have millet flour and so I used 1/4 cup of flax meal and only brown rice flour rather than both white and brown rice flour. I also substituted homemade brown rice milk for the warm skim milk and olive oil for the canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly. Have a cuisinart convection breadmaker and used the gluten free setting. It came out perfect! Great taste and wonderbread light- This is the first bread I've made that wasn't a pre-packaged mix-- which always turned out heavy and chalky. Will never go the mix route again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This is a yummy bread!! The first loaf lasted less than a day in our house. I have not used a bread machine and have made it several times by the mixing dry ingredients, then the wet (poofing yeast separately) and combining the two. I also let the dough rise before baking. I have also made it with a variety of gluten free flours equal to 3 cups, none specific to the recipe. With my oven and cookware (blue silicone) I bake at 325 for 1hr. I would love it to take less time, but it's worth the wait! I look forward to trying it in the bread maker when I get the part I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This recipe is great! Store brand mixes are expensive. Many homemade mixes I have tried have been too dense or dry. This is just right and the recipe tastes as close to a regular loaf of homemade bread as I have eaten. My family will eat it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Wow! Very good! I made without a bread machine. Mixed dry ingredients, then wet ingredients, then combined with each other with a fork. Proofed the yeast in 1/2 cup 100 degree milk with 1tsp sugar for 5 minutes. Then stirred this into the rest. Preheated convection oven to 450 for 30 min, then added pan of water - about 1 inch deep to bottom shelf and put loaves in center rack. Baked at 325 for 25 minutes. (I looked this trick up for bread in a convection oven - we just got one and everything cooks soooo fast and different - nice, but gotta ignore most recipe bake times.) I've never even made regular bread cause I'm afraid of yeast rising, but this turned out well. I let it sit covered on a heating vent for 25 min before baking - it rose a little, but I'm not sure how much it should rise? But turned out great! Oh - I also substituted the following: 1/2 tsp of stevia, no honey. Used 2% milk, no prob. Used 1 cup bobs red mill all purpose baking gluten free baking flour instead of tap and gar flour. Used 1 and 3/4 cup white rice flour - no brown rice flour. Also added 1/4 cup flaxseed meal. I'd say this receipe makes ONE big loaf pan of bread - came out thick, but moist. Could prob easily add bananas or more sugar to make into a cake if wanted :) Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
My entire family LOVES this bread! I cannot thank you enough, this is the best gluten free bread I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I tried this several weeks ago without a bread machine and it didn't rise and was pretty watery in dough form. I tried again yesterday and added only 1c of milk and 2 packets of yeast (slightly over 1 TBSP) and it was perfect. The flavor is great. I baked at 350 in a loaf pan for 60m. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I have baked this many times now and I am happy with this loaf. This works very well for toast and in a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I don't own a bread machine. I do own a grain grinder which helped with the garbanzos. I used 3 whole eggs instead of the egg plus white. My oven has a bread rising setting. I let it rise for about an hour. Baked at 365 (Glass Pans) for 40 minutes. Turned out great. Tastes great. Baking for a friend who has just discovered a gluten allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Excellent Recipe - I use Bob's Red Mill all purpose gluten free baking flour because it's convenient. It also is great in the bread machine with a traditional style loaf pan. I add some ground seeds for texture. :) Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States