Alison's Gluten-Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I thought this bread was going to be beautiful. It looked high and light - but - on the bake cycle of my bread machine it completely collapsed. The other gluten free recipe says to use the sweet bread cycle, but this one didn't say what cycle was used. The taste was good but my whole middle was sunken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Loved this recipe! I used 1/2 cup of almond flour in place of the garbanzo bean flour and millet flour since I didn't have those. I let it rise overnight and baked it in the oven. Wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This really is a very good gf bread recipe. I don't know if the magic is in the garbanzo bean flour or not. I didn't have millet flour and so I used 1/4 cup of flax meal and only brown rice flour rather than both white and brown rice flour. I also substituted homemade brown rice milk for the warm skim milk and olive oil for the canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly. Have a cuisinart convection breadmaker and used the gluten free setting. It came out perfect! Great taste and wonderbread light- This is the first bread I've made that wasn't a pre-packaged mix-- which always turned out heavy and chalky. Will never go the mix route again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This is a yummy bread!! The first loaf lasted less than a day in our house. I have not used a bread machine and have made it several times by the mixing dry ingredients, then the wet (poofing yeast separately) and combining the two. I also let the dough rise before baking. I have also made it with a variety of gluten free flours equal to 3 cups, none specific to the recipe. With my oven and cookware (blue silicone) I bake at 325 for 1hr. I would love it to take less time, but it's worth the wait! I look forward to trying it in the bread maker when I get the part I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This recipe is great! Store brand mixes are expensive. Many homemade mixes I have tried have been too dense or dry. This is just right and the recipe tastes as close to a regular loaf of homemade bread as I have eaten. My family will eat it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Wow! Very good! I made without a bread machine. Mixed dry ingredients, then wet ingredients, then combined with each other with a fork. Proofed the yeast in 1/2 cup 100 degree milk with 1tsp sugar for 5 minutes. Then stirred this into the rest. Preheated convection oven to 450 for 30 min, then added pan of water - about 1 inch deep to bottom shelf and put loaves in center rack. Baked at 325 for 25 minutes. (I looked this trick up for bread in a convection oven - we just got one and everything cooks soooo fast and different - nice, but gotta ignore most recipe bake times.) I've never even made regular bread cause I'm afraid of yeast rising, but this turned out well. I let it sit covered on a heating vent for 25 min before baking - it rose a little, but I'm not sure how much it should rise? But turned out great! Oh - I also substituted the following: 1/2 tsp of stevia, no honey. Used 2% milk, no prob. Used 1 cup bobs red mill all purpose baking gluten free baking flour instead of tap and gar flour. Used 1 and 3/4 cup white rice flour - no brown rice flour. Also added 1/4 cup flaxseed meal. I'd say this receipe makes ONE big loaf pan of bread - came out thick, but moist. Could prob easily add bananas or more sugar to make into a cake if wanted :) Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
My entire family LOVES this bread! I cannot thank you enough, this is the best gluten free bread I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I tried this several weeks ago without a bread machine and it didn't rise and was pretty watery in dough form. I tried again yesterday and added only 1c of milk and 2 packets of yeast (slightly over 1 TBSP) and it was perfect. The flavor is great. I baked at 350 in a loaf pan for 60m. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I have baked this many times now and I am happy with this loaf. This works very well for toast and in a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States