Alison's Gluten Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This was great. I did sub some of the ingredients, but no matter, the base was great and my finished product came out great. This bread is good on it's own with a little butter, or as a sandwich. I don't have a bread maker - don't need one for GF bread, the consistency isn't the same as glutenous bread. I mixed all the dry ingredients, then the wet in another bowl, and then slowly mixed them together. Worked perfectly. Let it rise, then bake in the oven at 350 for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is the best GF recipe for bread I have found so far. I did use 2 eggs in place of the egg whites and egg it calls for. I also used sugar in place of the honey. I did make it several times with the honey and found no difference. I am still searching for that perfect sandwich bread thats not so dense, but this makes wonderful toast or french toast. Recipe also works good for dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I have made this bread over and over again. I LOVE it! I crave it! It doesn't compare to the gluten free bread that you buy in the store. This is moist, soft, and has an excellent flavor. I have a decent bread machine, but not top of the line and I have never had a loaf that didn't turn out perfect. My gluten tolerant family can eat "regular" bread, but fight me over this anyway. I add an extra 1/4 cup of rice flour to my machine. And, I rarely use white rice flour...just all brown. Did I mention??? Amazing bread...thanks so much, Alison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenika Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I liked this bread. Didn't have a machine so made it the old fashion way. Took some reviewers advice. Warmed the milk to 100 degrees with a t. of sugar and added yeast. Only had All purpose and brown rice flour. So used those. Used geletin mixed with cool water instead of xanthan gum and threw in some flax. The best suggestion was to let it rise in the car. It had a really nice texture. I made 2 loafs and put a pan of water in the bottom of my oven once the convection had reach 450 degrees. Then a turned down to 325 and cooked for 25 minutes. Next time I will make one loaf. It should be the right size and height that way for slicing for sandwiches. Could use a little more sweet taste, but that may be because a didn't have the right flours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah H. Watt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I made this as another reviewer suggested, using half all purpose gluten free flour and half brown rice flour instead of all the other flours and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
What am I missing here? I mixed the ingredients and let the machine mix for 5 to 6 minutes and it was absolutely SOUP! The recipe says to check the consistency after 5 minutes but doesn't say what the consitency should be. It was barely pancake batter consistency, no where near bread dough or even a quick bread batter. I started dumping in GF flour until it was at about a quick bread thickness, must have added at least 1/2 cup. I let it rise in the machine and it did rise pretty well. At this point it may have come out well if I had baked it in the machine, but I always pull the dough out and bake it in the oven. The dough would not pour from the can so I dug it out and had a gooey, sticky blob. I arranged it on a baking stone and let it rise for about an hour. It didn't rise much but I baked it at 325 for about 45 minutes and it did come out surprisingly well for the mess it was in the making. Can anyone help me out with the consistency question? How thick is the dough supposed to be? Did anyone else end up with soup after 5 minutes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
We love this bread. It's a little heavy. I actually decreased the xanthum gum used (I think it adds a bitter taste). Otherwise, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I substituted the Garbanzo and Millet flour w/ additional White Rice flour. Followed everything else exactly, then turned this into a tasty Onion, Garlic, Cheese bread! I combined all original ingredients, then added about 1-1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese cubes, 1 large clove of minced garlic and 1/4 cup minced red onion (both garlic and onion sauteed in a little oil). I did not use a bread machine, but instead baked for 40-50 minutes on 350 until golden brown. Wonderful texture. Very moist! I made non-gluten-free Cheese breads for Christmas and I didn't want my gluten-free friend left out. She loved it, as did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I've tried this recipe in a bread machine three times, with varying unsatisfactory results. One time it rose unevenly, and twice it didn't even rise to the top of the pan. My husband says it's the best GF bread he's had, but I want it to rise like regular bread. Any ideas on what my problem could be? Could it be that I'm using bread machine yeast - should I use regular yeast that's proofed?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I gave it 4 stars only because I did not follow the recipe exactly. I didn't have any bean flour so i substituted 1:1 for soy flour.I ran out of my super fine brown rice flour so I substituted 1:1 for sorghum flour. I also used whole milk instead of what it called for. I put it in the bread machine and used the "sweet" cycle since it didnt specify what cycle to use and I do not have a specific GF bread machine. It didnt mix it all the way but a spatula and my husband took care of that! It came out with a nice color, a little crust, and tasted pretty good. Its texture was better than store bought GF breads- it was moist, and held up when eaten alone. Although it could use a little more binder because it was a little crumbly once you made it into a sandwich. However this could have been due to my lack of not following the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States