Ali's Green Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
Too much sour cream! We tasted the vegetable mixture prior to adding the sour cream, and the taste was incredible. After adding only one cup of sour cream, the sauce was already too thick. I would say half a cup of sour cream, at most, is needed. Also, if you prefer a spicier dip, you might want to use more than the two jalapenos listed. Our sauce was really quite mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
To ensure it to be spicy, I included the jalapeno seeds. I did not have three avocados, but it still worked out well. I also added some diced avocado after blending to give it some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Very bland. Even added green onions later and still bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This was fantastic! Just like the dip from the Mexican restaurant, only better! I didn't have green tomatoes, and the red ones worked fine. I did add some Chipotle Tabasco for some extra kick, along with some garlic salt. Even my husband, who doesn't like guacamole, loved this dip. I am so excited that I found this recipe! Thank you for sharing it with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was good but I think it lacked in flavor just a bit. I only used about 1/2 cup sour cream. Maybe adding some lime next time might help with the lack of flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I am not from TX, so I'm not sure what restaurant this refers to and don't have a point of comparison. I had some green tomatoes to use up so I figured I would give this a try (we like tex mex). I followed the recipe closely except left the seeds in the peppers as other reviewers suggested. This was pretty good, but not lifechanging or a standout. My family prefers guacamole and also roasted tomatillo green salsa, so I'll make those next time instead of using those ingredients to make this, it is not bad, but it's not as good as either of those either. It was fun to try something new though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This was GREAT! The only issue we had with it was that it was too "pureed", so I would probably make it less soupy and maybe add another avocado in before serving that is just slightly mashed, to give it some kind of chunky texture. Other than that, WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
I won't make this again. Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was wonderful! I made it for a mexican fiesta that we had here. Several of our guests proclaimed that it was better than than served at our favorite mexican restaurant here - wonderful compliment. I could not find green tomatoes so I just used all tomatillos. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LanieBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eudora, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orange, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
OMG this is so good with fresh fried corn tortillas!!Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States