Ali's Green Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This recipe almost gets 5 stars, but as is was way too bland. I added a ton more cilantro (I'm not sure exactly how much, I just kept adding till it tasted the way I liked it) and one more tomatillo. Once I did that it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
waaaaay to weird and creamy. I think this might be because I was looking for a more authentic salsa verde con aguacate recipe. Even so I could never eat this. What a waste of three avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
After making this 100x (I submitted this recipe years ago), I've realized that I prefer the sauce with a LOT more cilantro. These days, I usually add 3/4 of the bunch, tasting as I add to get the right flavor. Also, it's some times hard to find green tomatoes and so I've substituted regular tomatoes without affecting the taste. To keep the sauce 'green' for much longer than typical, sprinkle a generous amount of 'Fruit Fresh' into the sauce. (Fruit Fresh also works great for guacamole.) Salt is a must in this recipe to bring out the avocado flavor, and it also pairs well with saltier tortialla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali_B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klein, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was so-so when we made it as directed. We decided to add juice and zest of one lime and some salt to half the recipe when we found that it was not as great as we expected. The salt and the lime really made this exceptional! It ended up being a hit on shredded beef tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I am not from TX, so I'm not sure what restaurant this refers to and don't have a point of comparison. I had some green tomatoes to use up so I figured I would give this a try (we like tex mex). I followed the recipe closely except left the seeds in the peppers as other reviewers suggested. This was pretty good, but not lifechanging or a standout. My family prefers guacamole and also roasted tomatillo green salsa, so I'll make those next time instead of using those ingredients to make this, it is not bad, but it's not as good as either of those either. It was fun to try something new though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was good but I think it lacked in flavor just a bit. I only used about 1/2 cup sour cream. Maybe adding some lime next time might help with the lack of flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Tastes like the restaurants
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Instead of boiling the vegetables, you can roast them in a 400 degree oven for 12 to 15 minutes, then put them food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was wonderful! I made it for a mexican fiesta that we had here. Several of our guests proclaimed that it was better than than served at our favorite mexican restaurant here - wonderful compliment. I could not find green tomatoes so I just used all tomatillos. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LanieBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eudora, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orange, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I have been looking for a recipe like this - it's JUST like at the mexican restaurants here Texas! I've been trying to duplicate this for a while - perfect!! I would suggest adding 3/4c. sour cream instead of 1 1/2. I also added an extra jalepeno and threw in two small diced avocados at the end (they don't serve it like this at the restaurant, but my family thinks it adds a nice chunky texture). When adding the salt (I used garlic salt and sea salt) at the end...keep adding until it suits the flavor. The salt really brings out all of the veggies flavors!! Be prepared for a LOT of dip...but it will be eaten for sure! I'm going to try freezing a small amount of it and see how it does - so I'll be back to let yall know!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States