Ali's Green Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is wonderful! I added lime juice to mine and OMG, I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was pretty yummy! This is closest thing I have found to what they serve along with the red salsa here in Houston. I used 2 giant jalapenos (didn't remove all of the seeds, just most) and it made for a very spicy after taste and kind of overpowered the rest of the ingredients. I think I'll use 1 giant one or two smaller ones next time and it'll be much better. It's not quite as good as my favorite mexican places' green sauce, but close!! I also added some lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
i kinda screwed up my proportions but it was still awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Scaled down this recipe to 4servings. Couldn't find a green tomato, so used red. Also, added alot more cilantro, salt, and Fruit Fresh to keep it green. Amazing sauce! Excellent on sandwiches, eggrolls, chicken, u name it, this is the best Avocado cream sauce I've had! Just like Chili's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This Green Sauce is fantastic!!! I read the reviews and decided to make it exactly as the recipes says just to test it for myself. I love creamy dips so I added the full 1 1/2 cups sour cream and thought it was perfect! Thanks for this recipe, my friends and family all really like it and a few have even asked for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Since I don't live in Texas, I am sure I have never tried the green sauce about which many have commented. Instead, this sauce reminded me of an avocado salsa that was offered at a chain Mexican restaurant that is no longer in our area-- much to our extreme sadness. Either way, it is delicious. I will make this often. Thank you for posting this recipe. It makes us miss our former fast food Mexican place a little less...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This recipe almost gets 5 stars, but as is was way too bland. I added a ton more cilantro (I'm not sure exactly how much, I just kept adding till it tasted the way I liked it) and one more tomatillo. Once I did that it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
waaaaay to weird and creamy. I think this might be because I was looking for a more authentic salsa verde con aguacate recipe. Even so I could never eat this. What a waste of three avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
After making this 100x (I submitted this recipe years ago), I've realized that I prefer the sauce with a LOT more cilantro. These days, I usually add 3/4 of the bunch, tasting as I add to get the right flavor. Also, it's some times hard to find green tomatoes and so I've substituted regular tomatoes without affecting the taste. To keep the sauce 'green' for much longer than typical, sprinkle a generous amount of 'Fruit Fresh' into the sauce. (Fruit Fresh also works great for guacamole.) Salt is a must in this recipe to bring out the avocado flavor, and it also pairs well with saltier tortialla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONBROADUS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klein, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was so-so when we made it as directed. We decided to add juice and zest of one lime and some salt to half the recipe when we found that it was not as great as we expected. The salt and the lime really made this exceptional! It ended up being a hit on shredded beef tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States