Alienated Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I'm only giving this 4 stars because of my few changes, but these are SUPER YUMMY! I halved the recipe, leaving the vanilla and salt in the original amounts. I also used less sugar than called for: 1/3 c white sugar and 1/3 c brown sugar. I used 2/3 c AP flour and 1/3 c whole wheat flour. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and used 1/2 c blueberries and 1/2 c chopped strawberries. I was also very lazy with the prep, I mixed all of my wet ingredients including the softened butter in a big bowl and then stirred in the dry ingredients before adding the floured fruit, this didn't make any difference in the texture. Love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
My daughter is super picky and wanted blueberry muffins yesterday. For some reason I didn't stick with the ol' Betty Crocker recipe and decided to try this one. Dumbest decision of the week. First batch was burnt before they were half cooked (I'm assuming my stupid nonstick bakeware had something to do with it.) However, second batch in paper cupcake cups came out no better. They've stuck to the paper. All the berries are all at the bottom of the muffin. Picky eater won't eat them and I'm not planning on it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gingerkid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Love this recipe! I always use frozen blueberries because we rarely have fresh ones. These always turn out great. Even my daughter who claims to hate blueberries eats these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
These muffins are out of this world!! I usually bake cookies and other desserts, so baking this recipe popped my muffin cherry (or should I say, blueberry, hehe). First batch, I used fresh blueberries, which were kind of on the large side. Muffins came out super moist and yummy and got rave reviews from my boyfriend. However for the second batch, the grocery store was out of fresh blueberries so I used frozen organic blueberries, which were smaller in size. The muffins still came out wonderfully moist and delicious, and the distribution of the berries seemed more even and not so bulky as the first batch when I used fresh berries. A note though about the frozen berries: I did let them sit out on the counter for about 10-15 mins while I prepared the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marleysmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This was the first time i was making muffins and thanks to this recipe everything turned out perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I found these to be so delightful. They were not that sweet at all, and so easy to make. Everyone who had them love them. They are easy going on the calories as well, which is great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slough, Berkshire, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I made these and they are just wonderful! I did change something, I used half brown sugar instead of all white sugar,and I used a little less baking powder, and they came out nice and sweet! I washed my blueberries before coating them in flour, and the didn't sink at all! They stayed even throughout the mixture, Very good recipe will use it again and would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I used fresh raspberries and a cream cheese filling in the middle, they rose wonderfully and tasted great! Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
These really are GREAT blueberry muffins! I love the blueberry muffins from Souplantation/Sweet Tomatoes and this recipe is the closest I've found to those deliciously awesome muffins. I didn't have fresh blueberries and used some frozen ones, but they still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aalawahine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
These are really good muffins. I've made them twice now and they always work perfectly for me as is. I only get 18 muffins out of this recipe though. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States