Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I'd give this 5, but the salt level was way too high. Another reviewer said to cut in half, and I'd agree. It turned out I didn't have any cumin seeds, but I did have coriander leaf which makes an attractive addition at service. This is an excellent dish and I highly recommend to those who want a very authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
it was a delicious dish, yet too spicy for my taste. Instead of a can of coconut milk, i will use coconut creme mixed with water, as it has a more coconuty flavor and mellow down the heat a bit. you can find coconut cream in a yellow box in the international section of your health food store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
An all time favorite. I haven't found anyone who doesn't love it! I double the spices. Half the salt. Add a generous portion of raisins and blanched almonds. You can also use sweet potato if you don't have regular potatoes. I also used frozen cauliflower with no issues. Freezes well and so yummy with naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
The spicing in this dish was lovely! I decreased the turmeric by half, and used fresh ginger. The heat is definitely not for the faint of heart! I had to decrease it for my family members(though I am slowly building up their tolerance to capsaicin, heh heh). Next time I will omit the coconut milk. I find that its delicate fresh flavour is lost in the assertive seasoning in this recipe. I will be making this again! Thank you for sharing, Alicia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Any recipe that calls for 1 TABLESPOON(!) of cayenne pepper is an instant winner. This is the best Indian I've ever cooked at home. GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Thank you for this recipe Alicia. This was very easy and had some good flavor. I used fresh ginger because I had it on hand, and suggest definitely using all of the cayenne...I didn't think it had enough heat so I even added some more at the end. I added some frozen peas a couple of minutes before the dish was done which added some nice color. I was nervous that there wouldn't be enough liquid because my veggies and potatoes came right up to the top of the liquid in the pan, but it came out great. Make sure you cut your potato cubes all the same size, and I suggest not draining the canned tomatoes. Will definitely make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
So good! I served this over steamed rice. Followed the directions exactly and felt that they were sufficient! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Much spicier than I thought it would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
just finished eating this and i must say it was VERY good! it was a bit more liquid-y than i was expecting, but that didnt bother me too much. perfect amount of spice, will be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was pretty good, but I'm not too sure on the amount of servings. I think it's way more than 4 servings, in fact, I couldn't use all the cauliflower and potatoes that I had cut up (it wouldn't all fit!) I also just used curry powder to taste instead of all the individual spices. Used light coconut milk to cut down on fat/calories. Not my favorite Indian dish, but we enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States