Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was very good. As others have suggested, I omitted the garam masala and cinnamon, cut the salt in half and added only a teaspoon of cayenne pepper as well as half a teaspoon of crushed red pepper. I then sprinkled a generous amount of paprika on top of the cauliflower and potatoes then simply baked them at 400°F for about 45 minutes (or until a fork nicely pierces through a potato), stirring once. For a lighter coconut milk, I purchased Mae Ploy coconut milk from the Thai supermarket(which was quite cheap) and used about 2/3 cup mixed with a cup of unsweetened almond milk which added the right amount of creaminess. Light coconut milk is really JUST full fat coconut milk dilluted with water. Lastly, I served this with quinoa and naan bread that was lightly toasted with minced garlic and topped with fresh chopped parsley. So delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tipsuda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Arleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is a great Indian recipe for the timid cook! Very easy directions, and pretty cheap ingredients, apart from the coriander and garam masala, which I omitted. I added a little curry powder, increased the cumin to 2 tsp (ground), used tiny red potatoes to make it cook faster, and used broccoli instead of cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I've tried all different Aloo Gobi recipes off of the internet, this one's my favorite. I didn't have cumin seeds so I just used ground cumin. Used only 1T of garam masala. Threw in the spices after I sauted the garlic for a minute to toast the spices. I used sweet potatoes, cut into small cubes to speed up cooking time. I cooked those first for about 30 min. before I threw in the cauliflower. I didn't have a whole head of cauliflower so I supplemented with broccoli. I am an Indian food lover, and this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I made this with sweet potatoes. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
way too much turmeric and coriander not to mention salt! had to double coconut milk and tomatos and start over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Did not like this one. Maybe I was thinking of other curries with currie powder (too cinnamony for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Holy Aloo Gobi Alicia! This is delicious!!! I reduced the salt and oil, but everything else was perfect. Servers more like 8 - goes perfectly with naan. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Recipe is very tasty. Loved it. Thanks, Alicia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Thank you for sharing this!!! I adulterated your version a bit by substituting sweet potatoes for the Yukon Golds, but stuck to the recipe on everything else. Ahh-ma-zing. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States