Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
way too much turmeric and coriander not to mention salt! had to double coconut milk and tomatos and start over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Did not like this one. Maybe I was thinking of other curries with currie powder (too cinnamony for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Holy Aloo Gobi Alicia! This is delicious!!! I reduced the salt and oil, but everything else was perfect. Servers more like 8 - goes perfectly with naan. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Recipe is very tasty. Loved it. Thanks, Alicia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Thank you for sharing this!!! I adulterated your version a bit by substituting sweet potatoes for the Yukon Golds, but stuck to the recipe on everything else. Ahh-ma-zing. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I almost doubled the spices because I like it that more intense - great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I would give this recipe five stars except that the cooking time is very, very, very wrong. At 5pm, I reduced heat to low (step 3) and covered it. At 6pm, I went to check to see if the potatoes were done. They were completely raw. I turned up the heat to a 3 (medium-low) and covered it again. At 7:30pm, my husband and I ate it but without our son. We had to put him to bed after an instant Mac 'N Cheese dinner. Even after it cooked for two and a half hours (most of which was done on a higher temp than the recipe called for), my husband said it would have been better if it was cooked longer. The flavors were great, but it's upsetting to have to wait hours to eat dinner when you're not expecting it. I'll make this again because it was delicious, but I'll cook it on medium-low for 2-3 hours next time (instead of low for the first hour). I should add that I followed the recipe exactly except that I only put in a dash of salt, and I skipped the cayenne pepper because I just didn't see it in the recipe list. I did use the masala. The flavors were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Delicious! Very spicy, which I like, but next time will try significantly reducing the Cayenne pepper in an effort to make it kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is awesome - super tasty, perfectly seasoned and very satisfying. Because I didn't have any I left out the garam masala and cumin seeds (but replaced with a bit of ground cumin powder). Also decreased the amount of salt per other suggestions. Otherwise followed this pretty closely. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkgreco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States