Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
loved it. didn't add garam masala b/c didn't have any and it didn't matter: this was awesome. i liked the cayenne kick. next time, i will try what others suggested and use less coconut milk (perhaps try yogurt instead) to see what a less wet consistency is like. thanks for the awesome meal! :) i have a lot left over so i will experiment with freezing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Fantastic and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Sevigny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I read a lot of reviews before making this, so I cut the cayenne in half and skipped the garam masala alotgether, since almost every ingredient in garam masala is already in the recipe. I didn't have cumin seeds, so I used 1/4 tsp ground cumin and I didn't have turmeric so I skipped that, too. We ate it over basmati rice and it was yummy!! Still a little spicy but not overpowering. I considered a dollop of plain yogurt, but it didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Great flavour! Very tasty and hard to stop at just one serving. Since it was our first time, I decided to reduce the cayenne pepper to 1 tbsp and I am happy I did. It had just the right amount of heat. The full amount would make this equivalent to a Vindaloo in heat. Next time I will hold back the cauliflower for 10 minutes so that it doesn't crumble quite as much, but this is a definite keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Sooo, I just finished my SECOND bowl. Holy moly do I ever enjoy this! The ONLY reason I couldn't give it a full 5 stars is that I had everything prepped when I realised that I didn't have coconut milk. I ended up using twice the tomatoes with an extra cup of water...and it is still delicious. I will definitely make this again and if happen to be missing the milk again I will be ok with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Hmmm.... This was just "OK" for me. To my surprise, my cauliflower-hating husband liked this quite a bit. For me, this was very one dimensional. The spiciness of the cayenne (which I halved, btw) was all I could taste. This is not at all what I expected, especially given all of the wonderful spices called for. I also didn't find this "wet" at all.... Actually, I had quite the opposite experience. After simmering on low for 45 minutes, my curry was very dry (much like traditional aloo gobi). This had absolutely no bearing on my rating, but I do want to point out that my curry didn't turn out at all as I thought it would. Served over jeera / cumin rice (MEDHALEE) with a side of naan, this was an allright meal. If for nothing else, I at least convinced my hubs that cauliflower isn't SO bad after all. :-) Thanks anyways, Alicia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Wonderful, easy recipe. I only used 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, but otherwise followed the recipe. After reading other reviews, I tasted it before adding the garam masala at the end, and chose to add it. It is even better a couple days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I don't think adding Garam Masala at the end should alter the flavor very much at all. This recipe already has a ton of Garam Masala spices in it, as Garam Masala is typically made of cinnamon, cumin, coriandor, nutmeg, and cardamom (and sometimes other spices). That being said, I felt like I put more spices in this dish that I have ever put in any dish in my whole life! But they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
we really enjoyed this. Easy to make with good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAKOWSKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I made this for dinner last night alongside Chicken Tikka Masala (also from this site), basmati rice and grilled naan, we really enjoyed the end result. I used ground cumin in place of the cumin seeds because that's what I had on hand, I omitted the turmeric because our local grocery store didn't have any, I reduced the amount of cayenne to about 3/4 tsp (kids don't like things spicy). I also omitted the beans and the garam masala (based on other reviews) and the end result was really good! The only change I will make next time is to stew everything together and only add the cauliflower for the last 30 minutes or so (I should note that I stewed mine for about 90 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States