Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Hmmm.... This was just "OK" for me. To my surprise, my cauliflower-hating husband liked this quite a bit. For me, this was very one dimensional. The spiciness of the cayenne (which I halved, btw) was all I could taste. This is not at all what I expected, especially given all of the wonderful spices called for. I also didn't find this "wet" at all.... Actually, I had quite the opposite experience. After simmering on low for 45 minutes, my curry was very dry (much like traditional aloo gobi). This had absolutely no bearing on my rating, but I do want to point out that my curry didn't turn out at all as I thought it would. Served over jeera / cumin rice (MEDHALEE) with a side of naan, this was an allright meal. If for nothing else, I at least convinced my hubs that cauliflower isn't SO bad after all. :-) Thanks anyways, Alicia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Wonderful, easy recipe. I only used 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, but otherwise followed the recipe. After reading other reviews, I tasted it before adding the garam masala at the end, and chose to add it. It is even better a couple days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I don't think adding Garam Masala at the end should alter the flavor very much at all. This recipe already has a ton of Garam Masala spices in it, as Garam Masala is typically made of cinnamon, cumin, coriandor, nutmeg, and cardamom (and sometimes other spices). That being said, I felt like I put more spices in this dish that I have ever put in any dish in my whole life! But they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
we really enjoyed this. Easy to make with good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAKOWSKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I made this for dinner last night alongside Chicken Tikka Masala (also from this site), basmati rice and grilled naan, we really enjoyed the end result. I used ground cumin in place of the cumin seeds because that's what I had on hand, I omitted the turmeric because our local grocery store didn't have any, I reduced the amount of cayenne to about 3/4 tsp (kids don't like things spicy). I also omitted the beans and the garam masala (based on other reviews) and the end result was really good! The only change I will make next time is to stew everything together and only add the cauliflower for the last 30 minutes or so (I should note that I stewed mine for about 90 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was my first attempt at cooking Indian food. Thank you Alicia! My husband said that if all vegetables tasted like this (i.e., the cauliflower), he would eat them more often! Now, on to an Indian eggplant recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
not bad, but not my favorite curry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was very good. As others have suggested, I omitted the garam masala and cinnamon, cut the salt in half and added only a teaspoon of cayenne pepper as well as half a teaspoon of crushed red pepper. I then sprinkled a generous amount of paprika on top of the cauliflower and potatoes then simply baked them at 400°F for about 45 minutes (or until a fork nicely pierces through a potato), stirring once. For a lighter coconut milk, I purchased Mae Ploy coconut milk from the Thai supermarket(which was quite cheap) and used about 2/3 cup mixed with a cup of unsweetened almond milk which added the right amount of creaminess. Light coconut milk is really JUST full fat coconut milk dilluted with water. Lastly, I served this with quinoa and naan bread that was lightly toasted with minced garlic and topped with fresh chopped parsley. So delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tipsuda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Arleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is a great Indian recipe for the timid cook! Very easy directions, and pretty cheap ingredients, apart from the coriander and garam masala, which I omitted. I added a little curry powder, increased the cumin to 2 tsp (ground), used tiny red potatoes to make it cook faster, and used broccoli instead of cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I've tried all different Aloo Gobi recipes off of the internet, this one's my favorite. I didn't have cumin seeds so I just used ground cumin. Used only 1T of garam masala. Threw in the spices after I sauted the garlic for a minute to toast the spices. I used sweet potatoes, cut into small cubes to speed up cooking time. I cooked those first for about 30 min. before I threw in the cauliflower. I didn't have a whole head of cauliflower so I supplemented with broccoli. I am an Indian food lover, and this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States