Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Can you see the smoke coming out of my mouth? This recipe is very hot. I love spices, but when something is so hot that burning is all you experience. This is said with cutting the cayenne down to 1 tsp from 1 tbsp., adding 1/2 cup of whipping cream and tice the amount of diced tomato and a tbsp. of honey! I could eat it if I topped it with a lot of plain yogurt and I could taste the lovely spices underneath the hot, but most of it will be in the trash, unfortunately. I would do this again but with only half a teaspoon of cayenne. You can always add more spice, but you can't take it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Too good for simple cooking n the taste was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Just realized that I mis-read the salt content. I used 1 tsp instead of 1 tbsp...you will need the 1 tbsp. for it to taste right. A teaspoon is not enough. Otherwise, my previous rating still stands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This turned out amazing! I only added a wee bit of cayenne pepper to make it kid friendly, but it was great! My best friend is Indian and gave it a two thumbs out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Warning: This is super HOT! I decreased the cayenne to one teaspoon and it's still very hot. I will try again with even less cayenne next time. Other than that adjustment, it is very nice. The texture and variety of spices are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
My first time making curry, after loving it in restaurants for years--GREAT recipe to follow and tweak as you like, which I think is the fun of it! I needed to use a yellow squash, so I did that instead of potatoes. To start, I mostly followed the recipe (although I just did the salt and cayenne to taste throughout the cooking process). I added all of the spices (except masala) a step sooner than the liquids to get the flavors going. Once I added all the veggies (my cauliflower was HUGE), one can of coconut milk did not seem like enough liquid for me. I added about 10 oz of water; then I covered it and let things cook. My stove is not so nuanced when it comes to heat (and I was impatient to eat!), so I had it simmering on medium heat rather than low as the recipe says. After finding another can of coconut milk, I added about 6 oz more of that. Once the cauliflower was al dente, I tasted things and went to work with adjustments because things were pretty bland. I ended up adding the same amount of spices all over again (except not as much cinnamon)--at this point simmering with the lid off. I used only half of the masala as I quite liked the flavors by the end. A few other tweaks: about 2 tsp of yellow curry powder, a good two handfuls of cilantro leaves (just before serving), and--bear with me--about 1/2 cup of dried (sweetened) coconut flakes. I agreed with one reviewer that it needed a little sweetness, plus I LOVE coconut in Indian dishes. We loved the end product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
we really enjoyed this.. i almost made a huge mistake by nearly forgetting the turmeric.. thankfully i had bf around to remind me.. instead of the coconut milk i used half yogurt and half almond milk.. i also added extra almond milk during cooking bc it started getting dry.. i didn't find this to be too salty.. but i did try to halve the cayenne.. came up short so subbed the last tsp with crushed red pepper.. omitted the garbanzo beans and added peas and carrots in it's place.. very tasty.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I have made this recipe many times now, for the whole family and everyone loves it. The only change I made was to cut the garam masala in half as it made it too spicy for my 5 year old. Love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Delightfully spicy with only 1 teaspoon of cayenne. Will probably take the salt down to 1 teaspoon next time too. I found it to be a bit too salty when I used 1 tablespoon of salt. Taste testing while it was cooking and liked it more before the garam marsala was added; I will probably delete the garam marsala from the recipe next time. But there will be a next time! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c3veggies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States