Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
HOLY SODIUM BOMB BATMAN, this was yummy, and about an hour after eating I was chugging water. It never occurred to me that a TABLESPOON of salt was a lot for four servings. So, yum, but watch out for the sodium, it comes in at OVER 2000 mg per serving - a double Quarter Pounder with Cheese from McDonalds only has 1280. Does anyone else wonder, upon closer scrutiny, if the salt and cayenne are typos? For me, the second time out I used a little over a teaspoon of salt, and a teaspoon of cayenne and it was spicy, but not incendiary, and I used ground cumin (all of my curries start with toasting seeds and then grinding) which added a great depth. Those who hadn't tried the first round licked their plates, I put salt out, no one reached for it. Don't get me wrong, it's really excellent, but I'm watching the sodium, so always looking for subs. Love the coconut milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
2 adults and 1 child loved it. 10 year old wasn't as thrilled. I cut the cayenne in 1/2, but was told it should be hotter. I think this will be even more awesome tomorrow after the flavors marinate. Thank you! Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Sheesh our mouths were burning, next time will half the cayenne! But wonderful authentic flavor. Also I used a coconut, chia almond milk combo milk to cut down the fat and you couldn't tell. Used ginger powder and ground cumin as didn't have those others on hand. Wonderful and thank you for posting this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativeglutenfree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
My husband is Indian and I cook a lot of Indian food and I did not like this recipe. The spices are really heavy and not in the right proportions. A Tbs of Tumeric and cayanne is way too much. As is the 2 tbs of Garam Masala at the end. Actually, all the spices are too much except for the cumin and coriander. I do like the idea of a wet coconut based masala and will try that with a more traditional aloo gobi recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: San Bruno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Super easy and delish! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I've made this twice now, with positive comments both times! In a crowd that has a meat-free eater, a dairy-free one, and a gluten-free one, this recipe satisfies them all. I haven't yet worked up to the full amount of cayenne, but am working on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Can you see the smoke coming out of my mouth? This recipe is very hot. I love spices, but when something is so hot that burning is all you experience. This is said with cutting the cayenne down to 1 tsp from 1 tbsp., adding 1/2 cup of whipping cream and tice the amount of diced tomato and a tbsp. of honey! I could eat it if I topped it with a lot of plain yogurt and I could taste the lovely spices underneath the hot, but most of it will be in the trash, unfortunately. I would do this again but with only half a teaspoon of cayenne. You can always add more spice, but you can't take it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Too good for simple cooking n the taste was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Just realized that I mis-read the salt content. I used 1 tsp instead of 1 tbsp...you will need the 1 tbsp. for it to taste right. A teaspoon is not enough. Otherwise, my previous rating still stands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This turned out amazing! I only added a wee bit of cayenne pepper to make it kid friendly, but it was great! My best friend is Indian and gave it a two thumbs out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States