Alicia's Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Loved this recipe! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmiecupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
A very good vegetarian curry, especially if your feeding a big (or very hungry!) family. I made a few adaptions, i used half/half natural yoghurt and vegetable stock instead of coconut milk, left out the cinnamon, and added the garam masala at stage two. I will make again, next time with lots of chopped fresh coriander for extra oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by menasheep
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This is good. And SPICY! I cut way back on the pepper, but there's still so much other spice that it'll slap you in the face! I added a little extra garlic, some curry powder, and used fingerling potatoes since I couldn't find Yukon gold for some reason. I served it with coconut basmati rice and chai. Thanks for the keeper! I didn't even realize it was vegan. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Holy cow!!! This had a serious spice factor! I am obviously not well accustomed to spicy curries, because this really blew my socks off and I had to down a whole glass of milk. However, everyone loved it (even my meat-n-potatoes parents)! The only thing I didn't add was the garam masala because the store had none. I served it over the Indian Style Basmati Rice from this site and it was yummy. But next time, I'll cut the spices in half and slowly work up to the amount in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I found this dish to be delicious. I didn't have any cardamom on hand, but since there is some in the garam masala, I figured the flavors would still be in the dish. I cut back on the salt and cayenne a little, but other than that I followed the recipe. My picky 9 year old said this was tasty. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I made this dish with a few changes- I opted for vanilla yogurt rather than the coconut milk to lower the fat content, and I added some asparagus. It was a bit spicy, but still fabulous. I served it with some quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was a good recipe. The next time I make it, I will not add the garam masala. As the dish cooked, it smelled great, just like traditional Aloo Gobi, up until I added the garam masala. The masala overtook the rest of the flavors and altered the dish. I also used only half the required cayenne and still found it way too spicy. Otherwise, a tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Although it calls for a lot of spices, this recipe is fairly simple to make. It is a spicy dish so be aware it does have a little kick. I will definitely make this dish again the taste was unexpected. Another plus is that its vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Great a simple dish. It seemed a bit daunting when i was looking at the recipe but once i got started it flowed together and was a hit. Truly tasted like something from an Indian kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I didn't like this at all - way too much cardamom and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States